HP Prime without CAS
10-23-2020, 03:03 PM (This post was last modified: 10-23-2020 04:39 PM by Amrlxy19.)
HP Prime without CAS
Hi, im an IB student, and IB does not allow to use calculators with CAS. It is fine because I can turn on the exam mode. However, without CAS, how am I going to solve polynomial equations and find roots? I have seen my friend's calculator that does not have CAS and can solve polynomial equations.

I know that it is possible to use the function app to sketch the function and find the roots. But, I am going to use it quite frequently. So, what is the fastest way to solve without using CAS features? Otherwise, I think this calculator will slow me down in exams... But right now i am loving this calculator except for the problem above.

Is there anyone who has experience with IB or any other exams that needs to disable CAS? Because this is may be only the first problem I encounter, so any related experience/story will be really appreciated.

Any help would be appreciated and thanks in advance.

EDIT: IB stands for International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. It is quite similar as SAT and A-level.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-23-2020, 04:22 PM
RE: HP Prime without CAS
(10-23-2020 03:03 PM)Amrlxy19 Wrote:  Hi, im an IB student, and IB does not allow to use calculators with CAS. It is fine because I can turn on the exam mode. However, without CAS, how am I going to solve polynomial equations and find roots? I have seen my friend's calculator that does not have CAS and can solve polynomial equations.

I know that it is possible to use the function app to sketch the function and find the roots. But, I am going to use it quite frequently. So, what is the fastest way to solve without using CAS features? Otherwise, I think this calculator will slow me down in exams... But right now i am loving this calculator except for the problem above.