Simple programming help with the Prime
06-09-2014, 04:09 PM
Simple programming help with the Prime
I am new to PPL and the HP Prime. I am converting many programs from RPL on the HP 48GX and trying to move over to the HP Prime. I am having trouble accessing the "stack" in code. Does anyone know how to do this? I am sure it may be simple but I have yet to figure this one out. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ernesto
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-09-2014, 04:39 PM
RE: Simple programming help with the Prime
There are currently no functions callable from PPL that will manipulate the stack. However, parameters to programs can be pulled from the stack. The syntax on the entry line is
Code:
function_name(n)
where "n" is the number of arguments that should be popped off the stack and provided to the program. The return value from the program also ends up on the stack. If you want to return multiple values, the only option today is to return a list.

Lack of integration between PPL and the stack is somewhat dismaying to me. In addition, the fact that the type system can't determine on its own how many arguments to pop is yet another symptom of incomplete integration.

- John
06-09-2014, 05:13 PM (This post was last modified: 06-09-2014 05:14 PM by Tim Wessman.)
(06-09-2014 04:39 PM)John R. Graham Wrote:  addition, the fact that the type system can't determine on its own how many

So how would you propose handling cases where you can have any number of arguments such as the MIN function which can take 1-16? Limit it to 2 and lose functionality? How would you avoid automatic evaluation when selecting it from a menu in RPN mode and it would automatically take 2 numbers instead of the 5 you wanted? What about in the CAS where something like sin(1,2,3,4) is a perfectly valid input?