Post Reply 
[BUG REPORT] Constants with exponents cause error
06-04-2014, 07:47 PM (This post was last modified: 06-04-2014 07:48 PM by norlesh.)
Post: #1
[BUG REPORT] Constants with exponents cause error
From the CAS screen taking the square root of G or any other constant with an exponent causes a totally useless nondescript error message. If you edit the equation by deleting the E in the constant and replace it using the 'EEX' key then the same equation works....

This is in the newest firmware .... so not cool
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2014, 07:55 PM
Post: #2
RE: [BUG REPORT] Constants with exponents cause error
(06-04-2014 07:47 PM)norlesh Wrote:  From the CAS screen taking the square root of G or any other constant with an exponent causes a totally useless nondescript error message. If you edit the equation by deleting the E in the constant and replace it using the 'EEX' key then the same equation works....

This is in the newest firmware .... so not cool

This works in the emulator anyway: √(6.02214129e23) 776024567266
Maybe it's just negative exponents that give an error?

Tom L
...other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, what did you think of the play?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2014, 08:04 PM
Post: #3
RE: [BUG REPORT] Constants with exponents cause error
(06-04-2014 07:55 PM)toml_12953 Wrote:  
(06-04-2014 07:47 PM)norlesh Wrote:  From the CAS screen taking the square root of G or any other constant with an exponent causes a totally useless nondescript error message. If you edit the equation by deleting the E in the constant and replace it using the 'EEX' key then the same equation works....

This is in the newest firmware .... so not cool

This works in the emulator anyway: √(6.02214129e23) 776024567266
Maybe it's just negative exponents that give an error?

√(NA) works on the calc also so your probably correct in it being negative exponents - but since Avagadros is the only constant in there with a positive exponent it doesn't give much satisfaction
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2014, 11:10 PM
Post: #4
RE: [BUG REPORT] Constants with exponents cause error
Here's a work-around: if you delete the little 'E' in the exponent and the press the 'EEX' to enter the exponent, all is well. That replaces the 'E' with 'e' which, in turn, is restored to 'E' on the CAS stack.

Perhaps the little '-' and the little 'E' don't play well together?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2014, 03:07 AM
Post: #5
RE: [BUG REPORT] Constants with exponents cause error
I think it's how the CAS handles these things. This is exactly what I reported on in my comment here: http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-2324.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2014, 04:59 AM
Post: #6
RE: [BUG REPORT] Constants with exponents cause error
Well, not quite: it is the combination of the little '-' and the little 'E' that doesn't work--not even to enter the constant. Somehow an edit to the 'E' or the '-' fixes it. The 'e' (as in Euler) issue is related, but different.

There is likely a problem with the way CAS parses the entry line.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)