Post Reply 
bugs and reports: January 2020
01-27-2020, 05:58 AM
Post: #1
bugs and reports: January 2020
I ended up making videos, since they are clearer and the gifs went wrong. Have any of these issues been closed before in another discussion?

Tested with FW 20200116 in Physical Calculator G1-[HW C] and Virtual Calculator,Most of these problems are old.


Physical Calculator

1. TDim is restored internally by pressing On + Symb, if you consult its value it is modified but it is not real, if you use the brightness to a minimum you will not notice it. TOff is not affected (although for a moment I thought so).



Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 05:59 AM
Post: #2
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
2. Unusual behavior: Graphic interference in the menu area, by animating "Theo Jansen" plotted in App Geometry. Cause detected: Number of hidden objects.
It could be ignored for not being significant
.



Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:00 AM
Post: #3
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
2.



Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:01 AM
Post: #4
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
3. Missing screen events, kinetic scrolling and long click. I have managed to reproduce it approximately every 30min after leaving it at rest, without any clue of the cause. It's weird because it also failed immediately after cleaning the memory. I am very lost.



Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:03 AM
Post: #5
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
Physical Calculator and Virtual Calculator

4. After clearing the memory, if there was an error result in the Home history, it'll disorder and rare real numbers will be inserted.



Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:04 AM
Post: #6
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
5. Lost objects in the Geometry App by pressing the "On" key several times during an animation.



Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:05 AM
Post: #7
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
6. Function app, it does not calculate area with a derived function graph, it starts to calculate quite a lot of time (HW C) and finally it does not emit a result, the calculation with integral is fast.

[Image: 49447702888_d0937ab1fe_o.png]

Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:06 AM
Post: #8
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
7. EDITMAT command does not show defined title, column and row labels if a "read-only" parameter is inserted.

[Image: 49448406317_c169f0ed6f_o.png]

Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:08 AM
Post: #9
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
Virtual Calculator only

8. Emulador bug: In WAIT(-1), if an alphabetic key is pressed more than 6 times, the program loading and unanswered.



Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:09 AM
Post: #10
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
9. Emulator window scrolls when reallocating the focus, has a value equivalent to the title bar and also at aditional width in windows of "Microsoft Windows" when the "Hide Titlebar" option is active.



Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:26 AM
Post: #11
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
(01-27-2020 06:05 AM)Carlos295pz Wrote:  6. Function app, it does not calculate area with a derived function graph, it starts to calculate quite a lot of time (HW C) and finally it does not emit a result, the calculation with integral is fast.

[Image: 49447702888_d0937ab1fe_o.png]

Which version does this correctly?
I really need this to work.
VPN
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 06:00 PM
Post: #12
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
Thank you very much "AmigoCarlos" for your work.

The Hewlett Packard company section calculators must have a control system for error reporting and solution tracking.

Project Emu48 Skins for android ► https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-14...25336.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 10:05 PM (This post was last modified: 01-27-2020 10:07 PM by toml_12953.)
Post: #13
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
(01-27-2020 06:05 AM)Carlos295pz Wrote:  6. Function app, it does not calculate area with a derived function graph, it starts to calculate quite a lot of time (HW C) and finally it does not emit a result, the calculation with integral is fast.

[Image: 49447702888_d0937ab1fe_o.png]

How do you enter that third equation? I end up with

δF1(X)
---------
δX=X

and no graph for it.

Tom L
I'm pining for the Fjords
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 11:07 PM
Post: #14
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
With Textbook mode setting, use the Math Template Key, (the alpha C key).

-Dale-
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-28-2020, 01:00 PM
Post: #15
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
Nice find on the editmat!
Thanks for the work!

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own. I do not speak for HP.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-28-2020, 03:22 PM (This post was last modified: 01-28-2020 08:37 PM by Dirk.nl.)
Post: #16
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
Hi Cyrille,
I think the Function App can’t evaluate/handle/manipulate (what is right English word for this?) the derivate of a function.
This is also apparent from an earlier post about not being able to find an extremum of a derivate.
If you first solve this with CAS and copy the result to the Function App, you will succeed.
This is not a problem from the last update, it has (in my opinion) always existed.

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-29-2020, 07:38 AM
Post: #17
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
Hello,

The best way to set F2 as the derivative of F1 is to do, in CAS:
F2:=F1' quick and easy...

F2 should be d(F1(X)/X=X)...

Stuff in functions should evaluate to a number when X is a number... X² evaluates to a number...
BUT, d(F1(X)/X) evaluates to a function (of X), NOT a number!!!!
d(F1(X)/X)|X=X or, as a shortcut syntax, d(F1(X)/X=X) does evaluate to a number...

We have put some hacks in place to make is as user friendly as possible, but it's not perfect.

Cyrille

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own. I do not speak for HP.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-29-2020, 07:48 AM
Post: #18
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
(01-29-2020 07:38 AM)cyrille de brébisson Wrote:  Hello,

The best way to set F2 as the derivative of F1 is to do, in CAS:
F2:=F1' quick and easy...

F2 should be d(F1(X)/X=X)...

Stuff in functions should evaluate to a number when X is a number... X² evaluates to a number...
BUT, d(F1(X)/X) evaluates to a function (of X), NOT a number!!!!
d(F1(X)/X)|X=X or, as a shortcut syntax, d(F1(X)/X=X) does evaluate to a number...

We have put some hacks in place to make is as user friendly as possible, but it's not perfect.

Cyrille

hacks?
one recursive evaluation?
or
CAS Settings Page 2/2 Recursive Evaluation: 25
?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-29-2020, 11:00 AM
Post: #19
RE: bugs and reports: January 2020
Cyrille, thanks for your explanation!

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2020, 11:44 PM (This post was last modified: 02-06-2020 07:52 PM by compsystems.)
Post: #20
RE: bugs and reports: February 2020
Hello
Taking advantage of this thread, I report two possible problems, (only tested on the simulator in win10 64bits)

The sequence seq1d & seq1e returns an error message. Why? is it a bug?

PHP Code:
// CAS MODE
// Increase in one unit
seq1 := ( 123); // [enter] ( 1, 2, 3, 4 )
seq1a := seq.. ); // [enter] ( 1, 2, 3, 4 )
seq1b := seq.. ); // [enter]  ( 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 )
seq1c := seq( -.. ); // [enter] ( -2, -1, 0, 1 , 2, 3, 4 ) 
seq1d := seq0.1 .. 3.8 ); // [enter] "Error: Bad Argument Value" Expected ( 0.1, 1.1, 2.1, 3.1 ) 
seq1e := seq( -2.1 .. ); // [enter] "Error: Bad Argument Value" Expected ( -2.1, -1.1, -0.1, 0.9 )


// Increase in a specific value
seq2 := seq( -.. 40.8 ); // [enter] ( -2, -1.2, -0.4, 0.4, 1.2, 2.0, 2.8, 3.6 )
seq2b :=seq0.3 .. 20.4 ); // [enter] ( 0.3, 0.7, 1.1, 1.5, 1.9 )

// Decrease in one unit
seq3 := seq11 .. ); // [enter] ( 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4 ) 
seq3a := seq( -.. -); // [enter] ( -5, -6, -7, -8 )

// Decrease in a specific value
seq4 := seq11 .. 42.5 ); // [enter] ( 11, 8.5, 6.0 ) 

[Shift]+[mem] then CAS vars seq1a to seq4 is shown as MATRIX type, this type of data is an ordered array but not a matrix, but a sequence.
Xcas has a command to specifically determine the subtype, that is subtype() cmd. The command has not been included in the list of current commands and is very necessary at the time of programming

Project Emu48 Skins for android ► https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-14...25336.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)