Post Reply 
SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
01-09-2020, 03:55 PM
Post: #1
SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
Hi, I am trying to get the SDK41 from Warren Furlow running in a VirtualBox environment. In particular, I am keen to get the emulator m41 running, as it allows single stepping of MCODE programs. Of course, the assembler and dissassmbler A41 and D41, together with the Linker L41 would also be super helpful.

I'm currently trying with a Windows10 environment, but I have no luck running M41. Running on MacOS, I also tried DosBox, but that is geared towards games and does not run the SDK41 apps.

I tried the version from Michael also posted on TOS which he compiled, but they only include A41/L41/D41, and not M41.

If anyone here has a working set-up for a Mac to run the SDK41, I'd love to learn about it.

Thank you!

PeterP

Cheers,

PeterP
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2020, 05:47 PM
Post: #2
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
(01-09-2020 03:55 PM)PeterP Wrote:  I also tried DosBox, but that is geared towards games and does not run the SDK41 apps.

Try vDosPlus instead.

Greetings,
    Massimo

-+×÷ ↔ left is right and right is wrong
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2020, 05:48 PM (This post was last modified: 01-09-2020 05:55 PM by ijabbott.)
Post: #3
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
I don't have a Mac, but does this help?

https://github.com/blanknut/mcode-project-osx

EDIT: That project is done by Jurgen Keller of this forum.

— Ian Abbott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2020, 12:55 PM
Post: #4
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
I have not been able to run SDK41 in Dosbox unfortunately. maybe Jurgen can elucidate if he had to do anything special to get them to run there?

Also, I do not have a compiled M41 from the SDK41, can someone maybe post a compiled M41?

Cheers

PeterP

Cheers,

PeterP
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2020, 12:58 PM
Post: #5
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
(01-09-2020 05:48 PM)ijabbott Wrote:  I don't have a Mac, but does this help?

https://github.com/blanknut/mcode-project-osx

EDIT: That project is done by Jurgen Keller of this forum.

Thank you, that is a great tip!

Cheers

peterP

Cheers,

PeterP
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2020, 03:44 PM (This post was last modified: 01-10-2020 03:44 PM by Massimo Gnerucci.)
Post: #6
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
(01-10-2020 12:55 PM)PeterP Wrote:  I have not been able to run SDK41 in Dosbox unfortunately. maybe Jurgen can elucidate if he had to do anything special to get them to run there?

Also, I do not have a compiled M41 from the SDK41, can someone maybe post a compiled M41?

Cheers

PeterP

Did you try the 32bit version (that runs also in 64 bit environment, no need for DosBOX) on TOS/LibView.cfm?Command=View&ItemID=1013

Greetings,
    Massimo

-+×÷ ↔ left is right and right is wrong
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2020, 10:02 AM
Post: #7
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
(01-10-2020 12:55 PM)PeterP Wrote:  I have not been able to run SDK41 in Dosbox unfortunately. maybe Jurgen can elucidate if he had to do anything special to get them to run there?

Off the top of my head, I'm not aware of any special DOSBox configuration that I did. I will check.

(01-10-2020 12:55 PM)PeterP Wrote:  Also, I do not have a compiled M41 from the SDK41, can someone maybe post a compiled M41?

The M41 executable is part of SDK41R6 which you can download from TOS.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2020, 10:36 AM
Post: #8
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
I checked my DOSBox installation. I don't see any special configuration done on my side. I use DOSBox 0.74-3.

To use my mcode project setup for macOS the only thing you have to do is to setup the SDK41 environment variable, i.e., add something like
Code:

# HP-41 Software Development Kit
export SDK41=~/prj/mcode/sdk41

to your .bash_profile file. If you want to deploy the ROM directly to your 41CL, please also add an environment variable for the corresponding USB device:
Code:

# USB serial device name
export USBSERIAL=/dev/tty.usbserial-A1068IY7

Hope that helps. Otherwise we can arrange, for example, a Skype session.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2020, 12:59 PM
Post: #9
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
Thanks to everyone's help I was eventually able to find a hodgepotch of code to make it run under Windows 10. The link on TOS to the m41.exe is broken but someone sent one to me. I was not able to get a "make Makefile" work with gcc ;-)

So now I have MacOS running a VirtualBox running Windows 10 running vDosPlus running m41 working. Next I will have to get the other code working and then figure out a way how to get stuff to the HP41.

One step at a time :-)

Thanks again to everyone for their help in getting me here!

Cheers

PeterP

Cheers,

PeterP
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2020, 04:25 PM
Post: #10
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
(01-17-2020 12:59 PM)PeterP Wrote:  ... and then figure out a way how to get stuff to the HP41.

It's easiest with a 41CL if you happen to have one. Otherwise do this.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 05:01 AM
Post: #11
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
Hi All,

I was wondering how to run SDK41 on Windows 10 and found, what I think, is the easiest way.

I'm running WLS (Windows Linux Subsystem) Ubuntu on my Windows environment and managed to compile all utilities with this. The only thing I need to change was some code in m41 and install ncurses-dev, but otherwise everything seems to be working.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2020, 02:00 PM
Post: #12
RE: SDK41 in a VirtualBox environment
Hi wbvreeuwijk!

Would you mind posting the compiled utilities or PM'ing me with them? I'd be very interested (I can just run Ubuntu directly on my VirtualBox on the Mac. Or, and that might be even cooler, could try to run them on a Raspberry Pi...)

Cheers

Peter

Cheers,

PeterP
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)