Post Reply 
[Update - G1, Android] Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
10-26-2019, 04:50 PM
Post: #21
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
Hi mbeddo,

Is this the same as I mentioned in a this post of my?
(02-02-2019 09:32 PM)Dirk.nl Wrote:  Problem solved.
Windows Defender Control Center, Controlled folder access must be switches Off.
It was On, I think, after the new re-installation of Windows 10 version 1809.
You can leave it on, but you must add that program in “Allow an app through controlled folder access”

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2019, 05:17 PM
Post: #22
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-26-2019 04:50 PM)Dirk.nl Wrote:  Hi mbeddo,

Is this the same as I mentioned in a this post of my?
(02-02-2019 09:32 PM)Dirk.nl Wrote:  Problem solved.
Windows Defender Control Center, Controlled folder access must be switches Off.
It was On, I think, after the new re-installation of Windows 10 version 1809.
You can leave it on, but you must add that program in “Allow an app through controlled folder access”

Yes. Thank you very much!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2019, 05:21 PM
Post: #23
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
Okay!!

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2019, 07:44 PM
Post: #24
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
I have some problems with the new firmware. My Prime is a G1, HW C, OS V0.050.640.
After installing the new fw everything seems good as always (I have installed every new fw and beta the past three years). All programs in place. After playing a while I started the python-app. Pressing OK: Prime restarted. Second try starting python-app, calculating something worked as expected but pressing Symb: Restart again.
Looking in the connkit (Win10, 64bit) Prime restarted again only opening the programs-tree (or sometimes the apps-tree).
I decided to reset the Prime completely (C-F-O - Format, Reset). Instead of restoring an old backup, I only tried to copy one simple program via connkit to the Prime. In connkit the program is visible and I can open it. On the prime the program is in the program library, but only 1k in size and after opening there is nothing! The program file is empty.
I also copied a whole HPPRGM. The app is on the Prime, but the corresponding program is empty. The same with all apps I copied!
So I restored my Prime back to Firmware 2.1.14181 (2018 10 16) and everything works fine again! So I don't think it's a Hardware problem.
Anybody similar problems?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 05:02 PM
Post: #25
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-24-2019 06:04 AM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  Hello,

The HP Calculator group is excited to release a public beta for the next version of the HP Prime software. If you are willing and able to test, we invite you to download and provide feedback on the new features and changes.

Should you also prove to be a very enthusiastic individual with quality issue reporting skills, you may also receive an invite to participate in the more closed alpha level testing that happen earlier in the development process.

While you can post in forums such as this at your discretion, we ask that the primary way of reporting be to send reports to calcbeta@hp.com. Basically, the goal is avoid disruption or annoyance to other forum participants. You can pop up a pre-populated email template by clicking the "Report Issue" menu item in the programs themselves.

This release has almost no new features or changes. I really, really mean that this time - (in fact only 2-3 bugs corrected I am certain about) We did however change and update to much newer build tools, processes and compiler versions. Generally, this has no impact but can sometimes cause very difficult to track down problems. Hence the desire to ensure everything is "working well" before more significant changes happen. Note that on some versions the build date/revision number may vary slightly due to timing of that specific build as I worked to resolve issues with the build automation processes. There is essentially no difference between them however.

  1. Updated CAS to latest 1.5 release.
  2. Corrected BREAK issue found on G2 hardware units only.
  3. Fixed issue with prompts for upgrade happening frequently on 64 bit windows versions.



Special thank you to Eric Rechlin at hpcalc.org for hosting the files for us.

Quote:Windows/Mac/Linux/Calculator
http://www.hpcalc.org/prime/beta/

iOS
HP Prime Lite: https://testflight.apple.com/join/wEWzNu3f
HP Prime Pro: https://testflight.apple.com/join/N3c1tyqC

Android
Coming soon...

Have fun!



Quote:HP Prime – Release Notes
-------------------------

Date Released: 2019/10/22

Internal Versions
-----------------
Firmware Version: ~2.1.14290 (2019 10 23) BETA
Virtual Calculator Version: ~2.1.14290 (2019 10 23) BETA
Connectivity Kit: ~2.1.14290 (2019 10 23) BETA

Description
-----------
This BETA release of the Prime Calculator firmware and associated PC and Mobile software is a minor maintenance release. Only users willing to experiment with pre-release software and report issues to calcbeta@hp.com are invited to experiment with this release.

Please back up your calculator before the update. Any existing data on the device may be wiped during the update process.

Primary focus of this BETA release is upgrading the underlying build tools for all platforms (calculator hardware, windows, iOS, android, macOS). As such, there are few end user noticeable changes included. The goal here is to ensure that everything is "working just as before" to make sure that no problems have been introduced as a result of said tool change.


Windows Connectivity Kit and Virtual Calculator:
1. Fixed issue with prompts for upgrade being misidentified on 64 bit versions.

Mac Connectivity Kit and Virtual Calculator:
1. None

Linux Technical Preview Virtual Calculator:
1. Delivered in x86 and x64 versions
2. Built using Ubuntu 14.04 and packaged as an appimage with latest appimage/linuxdeployqt versions
3. Primarily, this is to test if application is able to be run on a wide range of systems and distros
4. There is a technical preview and does not indicate a supported Linux release will be forthcoming - however the 60 day limit on other platforms will not be checked.

New Functionality and Changes (Calculator Software)
1. Updated CAS to latest 1.5 release.
2. Corrected BREAK issue found on G2 hardware units only.

Thanks Tim! Hope everything is well with you and the family,

Eddie
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 05:33 PM
Post: #26
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
The firmware can't be found by the Connectivity Kit (32 bit) at all, no matter what folder I designate as the working folder.

I installed the 64 bit, the Connectivity Kit still does not recognize the beta software.

I run Windows 10.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 05:56 PM
Post: #27
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-27-2019 05:33 PM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  The firmware can't be found by the Connectivity Kit (32 bit) at all, no matter what folder I designate as the working folder.

Looks like a typo in the error messages. Too many Firmware's. If

Documents/HP Connectivity Kit

is your Working folder, then put the firmware files in

Documents\HP Connectivity Kit\Firmware\PrimeG1
and
Documents\HP Connectivity Kit\Firmware\PrimeG2
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 06:28 PM
Post: #28
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-27-2019 05:56 PM)Wes Loewer Wrote:  
(10-27-2019 05:33 PM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  The firmware can't be found by the Connectivity Kit (32 bit) at all, no matter what folder I designate as the working folder.

Looks like a typo in the error messages. Too many Firmware's. If

Documents/HP Connectivity Kit

is your Working folder, then put the firmware files in

Documents\HP Connectivity Kit\Firmware\PrimeG1
and
Documents\HP Connectivity Kit\Firmware\PrimeG2

No success. I tried several locations on the C drive. When I click on Check for Update under the Help menu, it doesn't recognize the beta software. Is there a way to update an HP Prime outside of the Kit?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 06:30 PM
Post: #29
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-27-2019 06:28 PM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  
(10-27-2019 05:56 PM)Wes Loewer Wrote:  Looks like a typo in the error messages. Too many Firmware's. If

Documents/HP Connectivity Kit

is your Working folder, then put the firmware files in

Documents\HP Connectivity Kit\Firmware\PrimeG1
and
Documents\HP Connectivity Kit\Firmware\PrimeG2

No success. I tried several locations on the C drive. When I click on Check for Update under the Help menu, it doesn't recognize the beta software. Is there a way to update an HP Prime outside of the Kit?

In the HP Connectivity Kit, I had to go to the Help menu and choose "Update Calculator".
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 06:44 PM
Post: #30
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
I did that too Wes, still no success.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 06:52 PM
Post: #31
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-27-2019 06:44 PM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  I did that too Wes, still no success.

My working folder (Preferences) is "C:/Users/meb/Documents/HP Connectivity Kit". In that folder, I have a "Firmware" subfolder, and under that I have "PrimeG1" and "PrimeG2" subfolders where I unzipped the beta files into.

Then I did Help -> Update Calculator and it worked for me.

I'm using Windows 10.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 06:56 PM (This post was last modified: 10-27-2019 06:57 PM by Joe Horn.)
Post: #32
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
Eddie, in the Connectivity Kit, Preferences, Environment, the "Working folder" should end at "HP Connectivity Kit", and NOT include the "Firmware" subfolder. Mine is set to:
C:/Users/Joe/Documents/HP Connectivity Kit
Adjust yours appropriately... making sure it ends with "HP Connectivity Kit".

EDIT: Oops, mbeddo beat me to it. Big Grin

<0|ɸ|0>
-Joe-
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2019, 07:08 PM
Post: #33
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
Joe,

I was going to copy your post onto this thread, but you beat me to it.

Meddo, Joe, Wes; many thanks for your help! Much appreciated,

Eddie
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2019, 04:02 AM
Post: #34
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-26-2019 07:44 PM)froehlic Wrote:  Anybody similar problems?

Yes! An incorrect G1 release that was NOT the one tested got uploaded to Eric.

Anyone who installed that prior one, please delete it and put the new one just updated on. You will have extreme instability and lose data using that other one. Sad

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2019, 04:05 AM
Post: #35
RE: Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-26-2019 02:24 AM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  That RPN this is bizarre....

Do not use the prior version that got uploaded. Immediately update!

You will lose data and it will continue to get worse if you use that. The RPN issue was an offset of that untested and incorrect filethat was mistakenly given to Eric.

A correct one was updated today!

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2019, 05:45 AM
Post: #36
RE: [Update - G1]Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-26-2019 07:44 PM)froehlic Wrote:  [....].After playing a while I started the python-app. Pressing OK: [...]

Python-app? Wasnt aware one existed, or do you mean python syntax in the cas?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2019, 06:38 AM
Post: #37
RE: [Update - G1]Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-28-2019 05:45 AM)Stevetuc Wrote:  
(10-26-2019 07:44 PM)froehlic Wrote:  [....].After playing a while I started the python-app. Pressing OK: [...]

Python-app? Wasnt aware one existed, or do you mean python syntax in the cas?

I suspect that leaded Tim to the track of a bad firmware version, because yes there was a Python App, but it disappeared with today's update.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2019, 06:39 AM
Post: #38
RE: [Update - G1]Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-28-2019 04:05 AM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  
(10-26-2019 02:24 AM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  That RPN this is bizarre....

Do not use the prior version that got uploaded. Immediately update!

You will lose data and it will continue to get worse if you use that. The RPN issue was an offset of that untested and incorrect filethat was mistakenly given to Eric.

A correct one was updated today!

Updated. RPN does work!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2019, 12:43 PM
Post: #39
RE: [Update - G1]Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-28-2019 04:05 AM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  Do not use the prior version that got uploaded. Immediately update!

You will lose data and it will continue to get worse if you use that. The RPN issue was an offset of that untested and incorrect filethat was mistakenly given to Eric.

A correct one was updated today!

I just reported that they update the firmware to those who managed to do it, suspense

[Image: giphy.gif]

Viga C | TD | FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2019, 01:03 PM
Post: #40
RE: [Update - G1]Public Beta Availiable - Win/Mac/Linux/Firmware/Android/iOS
(10-28-2019 06:38 AM)pinkman Wrote:  
(10-28-2019 05:45 AM)Stevetuc Wrote:  Python-app? Wasnt aware one existed, or do you mean python syntax in the cas?

I suspect that leaded Tim to the track of a bad firmware version, because yes there was a Python App, but it disappeared with today's update.

I updated to the latest G1 firmware to eliminate the problem with RPN without trying the python app first. What was it? If it allowed real python code to run on Prime, then I hope HP puts it back in!

Tom L

If the First Presbyterian Church is nicknamed First Pres,
why isn't the First Methodist Church nicknamed First Meth?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)