Planet Simulator Advice (HP-55)
07-14-2019, 01:03 AM (This post was last modified: 07-14-2019 02:09 AM by snoman003.)
Planet Simulator Advice (HP-55)
Hello again, friends. The newbie here back with another thread. This time, I have a cool idea for a little time waster game but no real grasp on a good starting point-- I'm a big fan of the Maxis "Sim" games (SimCity and SimEarth) and so I got the idea to make a simple number game where you could adjust and tweak a planet all on my HP-55. Essentially, the game would be about adjusting the oxygen levels in the atmosphere which in turn effect the development of sentience and diseases. The goal is to get your planet to an overall number or level, with the sentience level adding to the planet level and disease subtracting from it.

Being that I'm on an HP-55, I'm limited to only 49 steps, which makes this concept an extra challenge (I've never been one to pick up something new and start off easy, I kinda like to jump in the deep end and figure things out from there). However, I believe that this basic idea should be possible to implement because of the Lunar Lander game I found (http://www.rskey.org/gene/calcmuseum/55lander.htm), which in some respects works similarly and is equally complex for the system.

How would O2 affect the other two numbers? How would disease and sentience in turn affect the overall planet level? How do I even code any of it? I'm really not sure... that's definitely what I need help with. Hopefully that'll be the fun part, and hopefully I'll learn a little too. Better yet, someone who needs help in the future will have one more thread to look to.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2019, 02:06 AM (This post was last modified: 07-14-2019 03:31 AM by snoman003.)
RE: Planet Simulator Advice (HP-55)
Here's a starting idea for how disease and sentience are calculated, though I do see some flaws with this:
Bacteria = 0.60(20%)×(O2 input)×(-50)