Post Reply 
Eprom rom dump issue
06-12-2019, 08:30 PM
Post: #1
Eprom rom dump issue
Hi all

I have received a hp-71b with three CMT 64k eproms. I thought I would try and dump the roms but I am having difficulty.

I am using the procedures outlined in the forums and in the emu71 manual with a special version of pokelex. I habe no problem sensing thw data to a terminal in pyilper or ilper. I then copy and paste the data into a text file but after I convert the txt file to a rom file using dmp2rom and then use titanchk I always get a checksum error. The romfile size on disk seems ok at 65536. The rom doesnt work in emu71. Aome details below.

10 DIM A$[64]
20 A=IP(HTD(ADDR$("AMPLEX0"))/256)*256
30 FOR I=0 TO 64*32-1
40 A$=PEEK$(DTH$(A+I*64),64)
50 PRINT A$
60 NEXT I

TITAN ROM Test V1.10
Unpacking data...
ROM Chip 1 = F2 -> Fail
ROM Chip 2 = C7 -> Fail
ROM Chip 3 = DB -> Fail
ROM Chip 4 = 6A -> Fail
Checksum Error!

Port 1 Eprom (AMP Rom03) details are:

>CAT :PORT(1)
NAME S TYPE LEN DATE TIME PORT
AMPLEX0 E LEX 577 01/01/00 00:00 1
CNTLEX71 E LEX 77 01/01/00 00:00 1
DISPERR E BASIC 115 01/01/00 00:00 1
GETTODAY E BASIC 106 01/01/00 00:00 1
KCDELX71 E LEX 83 01/01/00 00:00 1
MGETMENU E BASIC 342 01/01/00 00:01 1
CUSTUTIL E LEX 1007 01/01/00 00:01 1
FLDLEX71 E LEX 771 01/01/00 00:01 1
FLXCHK E BASIC 5446 01/01/00 00:01 1
FLXCLC E BASIC 468 01/01/00 00:01 1
FLXCLC1 E BIN 6671 01/01/00 00:01 1
FLXD S DATA 416 01/01/00 00:01 1
FLXP S DATA 667 01/01/00 00:01 1
IAA E BASIC 39 01/01/00 00:01 1
CLCINST E BASIC 212 01/01/00 00:01 1
MCHKRANG E BASIC 84 01/01/00 00:01 1
MGETCHAR E BASIC 111 01/01/00 00:01 1
MGETDATE E BASIC 442 01/01/00 00:01 1
MGETEXIT E BASIC 90 01/01/00 00:01 1
MGETHPD E BASIC 242 01/01/00 00:01 1
MGETNUM E BASIC 387 01/01/00 00:01 1
MGETPRMP E LEX 1171 01/01/00 00:01 1
MMAIN E BASIC 4357 01/01/00 00:02 1
NTSLEX71 E LEX 225 01/01/00 00:02 1
NULLEX71 E LEX 51 01/01/00 00:02 1
MCHKCPI E BASIC 47 01/01/00 00:02 1
DA E BASIC 53 01/01/00 00:02 1
IB E BASIC 48 01/01/00 00:02 1
SPCHK E BASIC 1610 01/01/00 00:02 1
SPCLC E BASIC 3525 01/01/00 00:02 1
SPD S DATA 1232 01/01/00 00:02 1
PRTLOGO E LEX 1703 01/01/00 00:02 1
PRTGRPH E BIN 326 01/01/00 00:02 1
SPP S DATA 412 01/01/00 00:02 1
SPRST E BASIC 110 01/01/00 00:02 1
TAXORD E BASIC 95 01/01/00 00:03 1
TAXSUPCM E BASIC 720 01/01/00 00:03 1
TAXSUPN E BASIC 391 01/01/00 00:03 1
E3E7R S DATA 372 01/01/00 00:03 1
AGT E BASIC 226 01/01/00 00:03 1
AMP E BASIC 394 01/01/00 00:03 1
SPPRT E BASIC 6090 01/01/00 00:03 1
FLXPRT E BASIC 5274 01/01/00 00:03 1
GETNOTES E BASIC 4355 01/01/00 00:03 1
TAXPRT E BASIC 2246 01/01/00 00:03 1
TAXR S DATA 464 01/01/00 00:03 1
TIMEOUT E BASIC 171 01/01/00 00:04 1
AMPNAMES S DATA 755 01/01/00 00:04 1
GRPH E BASIC 418 01/01/00 00:04 1
JSTLEX71 E LEX 390 01/01/00 00:04 1
TAX E BASIC 41 01/01/00 00:04 1
TAXCHK E BASIC 378 01/01/00 00:04 1
TAXCLC E BASIC 606 01/01/00 00:04 1
TAXD S DATA 112 01/01/00 00:04 1
TAXP S DATA 525 01/01/00 00:04 1
SETUP E BASIC 489 01/01/00 00:04 1
FLXNOTES E BASIC 2342 01/01/00 00:04 1
AMPLEX3 E LEX 114 01/01/00 00:04 1
FLXGPH E BASIC 89 01/01/00 00:04 1
SPGPH E BASIC 170 01/01/00 00:05 1
PRTHEAD E BASIC 171 01/01/00 00:05 1
VERSION S DATA 24 01/01/00 00:05 1
CLCMTH E BASIC 125 01/01/00 00:05 1
FLXRST E BASIC 113 01/01/00 00:05 1
PRTFOOT E BASIC 317 01/01/00 00:05 1
CLCYLD E BASIC 342 01/01/00 00:05 1
SETPRT E BASIC 595 01/01/00 00:05 1
MCALC E BIN 970 01/01/00 00:05 1
TERM E BASIC 117 01/01/00 00:05 1
POINTCLC E BASIC 229 01/01/00 00:05 1
POINTS E BASIC 51 01/01/00 00:05 1
POINTP S DATA 123 01/01/00 00:05 1
POINTD S DATA 128 01/01/00 00:05 1

And showport indicates

>SHOWPORT
0.05 16384 2
1 65536 2
2 65536 2
3 65536 2
0 4096 0
0.01 4096 0
0.02 4096 0
0.03 4096 0

I was hoping this is something I could do so any help would be appreciated.

Regards,

Richard
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2019, 08:41 PM (This post was last modified: 06-12-2019 08:48 PM by Dave Frederickson.)
Post: #2
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
The checksum fails because ROM's 2, 3 and 4 are really EPROM's and may not contain valid checksums. ROM01 will pass Titanchk because it's a true ROM.

EPROM's are similar in structure to IRAM's. Try loading the EPROM images into Emu71 as IRAM's.

Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2019, 08:53 PM
Post: #3
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
Thanks Dave. I will try what you suggest.

Regards

Richatd
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2019, 09:51 PM
Post: #4
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
To expand on Dave's comments, the programs for burning EPROMs allow for the creation and use of checksums, but checksums are never used by the 71 OS, so most folks making images to burn simply ignored them.

Christoph's utility is intended for actual ROM images, and while it will work on an EPROM image if it was burned that way, I don't think we've encountered more than a couple ever that actually included them, which initially was confusing as they all seemed to fail, just like yours. Dave is exactly right, just install them as IRAMs and they should be fine.

Hopefully you'll share these results, could be some interesting stuff on those 3 x 64KB modules.

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2019, 10:08 PM
Post: #5
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
Thanks for the explanation Bob.

Yes, keen to share the contents. Nice to be able to contribute to the forum instead of always seeking advice Smile

Richard

(06-12-2019 09:51 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  To expand on Dave's comments, the programs for burning EPROMs allow for the creation and use of checksums, but checksums are never used by the 71 OS, so most folks making images to burn simply ignored them.

Christoph's utility is intended for actual ROM images, and while it will work on an EPROM image if it was burned that way, I don't think we've encountered more than a couple ever that actually included them, which initially was confusing as they all seemed to fail, just like yours. Dave is exactly right, just install them as IRAMs and they should be fine.

Hopefully you'll share these results, could be some interesting stuff on those 3 x 64KB modules.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2019, 10:21 PM
Post: #6
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
When in doubt, examine the image with a hex editor. If the first eight bytes are "3BDDDDED", the Stand Alone Module ID or "IRAM Identifer" then the image is an IRAM, otherwise it's a ROM.

Of interest is the Finance ROM, which has the IRAM Identifier.

https://www.hhcworld.com/files/HP71COMPE...INANCE.ZIP

From the checksum bytes I see that you've version 6.2A of the AMP ROM set. I'm missing ROM02 from that set. If you have it could you please post an image of the EPROM?

Thanks,
Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2019, 11:43 PM
Post: #7
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
(06-12-2019 10:21 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  When in doubt, examine the image with a hex editor. If the first eight bytes are "3BDDDDED", the Stand Alone Module ID or "IRAM Identifer" then the image is an IRAM, otherwise it's a ROM.

Of interest is the Finance ROM, which has the IRAM Identifier.

https://www.hhcworld.com/files/HP71COMPE...INANCE.ZIP

From the checksum bytes I see that you've version 6.2A of the AMP ROM set. I'm missing ROM02 from that set. If you have it could you please post an image of the EPROM?

Thanks,
Dave

I was going to mention that even one of the HP ROMs ignored the checksum, but I never recall which one it is.

How the heck can you tell the ROM version from just the checksum bytes? Has someone posted all the checksum bytes for these ROMs?? You have amazing recall Dave.

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 12:35 AM
Post: #8
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
(06-12-2019 11:43 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  How the heck can you tell the ROM version from just the checksum bytes? Has someone posted all the checksum bytes for these ROMs?? You have amazing recall Dave.

LOL! I just compared Richard's checksums to the ROM03 checksums for the four versions I have and one of them matched. Amazing abilities not required. Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 12:54 AM
Post: #9
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
(06-13-2019 12:35 AM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  LOL! I just compared Richard's checksums to the ROM03 checksums for the four versions I have and one of them matched. Amazing abilities not required. Smile

So, no magic involved; still, not a casual leap. And it also assumes Richard's ROMs are a matched set. Probably true, but as we've learned, not always...

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 12:08 PM
Post: #10
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
OK. I managed to dump the roms AMP02, AMP03, and AMP04 and following the iram approach I have three unprotected .bin files and three .lif files if anyone is interested ?

I managed to run the Mortgage program and print to the HP2225b in pyilper and it prints a pretty funky AMP logo Smile

Cheers


Attached File(s)
.zip  AMPROMS-02to04.zip (Size: 347.88 KB / Downloads: 11)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 06:44 PM
Post: #11
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
I see that the AMP docs haven't been added to the HP-71B Compendium, yet. Here they are for anyone interested.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1oJNPsIH...sp=sharing

Here's ROM01. Seems there was only one version of this module.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XkgIBP0...sp=sharing

Note that the overlays are available for Emu71/Win.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 09:00 PM
Post: #12
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
(06-13-2019 06:44 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  I see that the AMP docs haven't been added to the HP-71B Compendium, yet. Here they are for anyone interested.
Yes I know, I know, I am way overdue to refresh the HP-71B Compendium, sorry about that.
It on my to do list with HP-IL Compendium refresh, add 41CL Update program missing options, update my forum articles, HP-41 Decompiler spreadsheet, etc.
I have way too many (unfinished) projects for the free time that I have. :-(
I am currently doing a complete revision of the HP-IL Compendium, once done the HP-71B Compendium is next, then I will be able to add missing items to both of them.
Sylvain
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 09:21 PM
Post: #13
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
Thanks Dave
I am not sure if my 3 rom set is exactly the same as in the document you attached ? All the programs on the Rom01 already run fine with the 3 rom set (02 to 04) i have ?

Cheers

(06-13-2019 06:44 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  I see that the AMP docs haven't been added to the HP-71B Compendium, yet. Here they are for anyone interested.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1oJNPsIH...sp=sharing

Here's ROM01. Seems there was only one version of this module.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XkgIBP0...sp=sharing

Note that the overlays are available for Emu71/Win.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 10:26 PM
Post: #14
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
(06-13-2019 09:21 PM)coitboy2000 Wrote:  Thanks Dave
I am not sure if my 3 rom set is exactly the same as in the document you attached ? All the programs on the Rom01 already run fine with the 3 rom set (02 to 04) i have ?

According to the documentation, the programs on ROM01 are a subset of those on ROM04, so the documentation looks correct. Perhaps not all modules were required to run the desired program.

As AMP is an Australian company, you're in a better position to research this than I. Smile

Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 10:37 PM
Post: #15
RE: Eprom rom dump issue
No worries. I will see what I can discover Smile

There does appear to be some pretty advanced programming done for these roms. I wonder if it was done by HP or whether parts of the code comes from other HP roms/sources, or perhaps was programmed by local Aussies.

(06-13-2019 10:26 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  
(06-13-2019 09:21 PM)coitboy2000 Wrote:  Thanks Dave
I am not sure if my 3 rom set is exactly the same as in the document you attached ? All the programs on the Rom01 already run fine with the 3 rom set (02 to 04) i have ?

According to the documentation, the programs on ROM01 are a subset of those on ROM04, so the documentation looks correct. Perhaps not all modules were required to run the desired program.

As AMP is an Australian company, you're in a better position to research this than I. Smile

Dave
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)