Post Reply 
Is there a way to use %TOTAL or similar in RPN? (Solved)
05-09-2019, 02:39 PM (This post was last modified: 05-11-2019 01:06 AM by Jlouis.)
Post: #1
Is there a way to use %TOTAL or similar in RPN? (Solved)
As the title says.

I was in need to make several %TOTAL but could not do it in the Prime, so I quick grabed a 39GII and could do the job very easy. Later on I discoverd that in the catolog we can use %TOTAL , but only in textbook.

I searched the manual and this forum and find nothing.

Thanks in advance

Cheers

JL
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 03:14 PM (This post was last modified: 05-09-2019 03:14 PM by toml_12953.)
Post: #2
RE: Is there a way to use %TOTAL or similar in RPN?
(05-09-2019 02:39 PM)Jlouis Wrote:  As the title says.

I was in need to make several %TOTAL but could not do it in the Prime, so I quick grabed a 39GII and could do the job very easy. Later on I discoverd that in the catolog we can use %TOTAL , but only in textbook.

I searched the manual and this forum and find nothing.

Thanks in advance

Cheers

JL
It works the same way all functions work in RPN. You put the arguments on the stack then use the number of arguments as the argument to the function:

instead of %TOTAL(20,50) do this:

20
Enter
50
Enter
%TOTAL(2)

and you'll get 250 which is the right answer. You use 2 in the parentheses since there are two arguments needed by %TOTAL.

Tom L

French phrases you rarely hear: "trop de beurre" (too much butter)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 04:02 PM
Post: #3
RE: Is there a way to use %TOTAL or similar in RPN?
(05-09-2019 03:14 PM)toml_12953 Wrote:  
(05-09-2019 02:39 PM)Jlouis Wrote:  As the title says.

I was in need to make several %TOTAL but could not do it in the Prime, so I quick grabed a 39GII and could do the job very easy. Later on I discoverd that in the catolog we can use %TOTAL , but only in textbook.

I searched the manual and this forum and find nothing.

Thanks in advance

Cheers

JL
It works the same way all functions work in RPN. You put the arguments on the stack then use the number of arguments as the argument to the function:

instead of %TOTAL(20,50) do this:

20
Enter
50
Enter
%TOTAL(2)

and you'll get 250 which is the right answer. You use 2 in the parentheses since there are two arguments needed by %TOTAL.

Voilå!

Really thanks! I searched the manual and didn't find this!

Cheers!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 07:10 PM
Post: #4
RE: Is there a way to use %TOTAL or similar in RPN?
or just use

20
Enter
50
Enter
%TOTAL or %TOTAL()

like any other function that by default takes two parameters.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 08:19 PM
Post: #5
RE: Is there a way to use %TOTAL or similar in RPN?
The Finance App has a very good percentage tool

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 09:20 PM
Post: #6
RE: Is there a way to use %TOTAL or similar in RPN?
(05-09-2019 07:10 PM)Wes Loewer Wrote:  or just use

20
Enter
50
Enter
%TOTAL or %TOTAL()

like any other function that by default takes two parameters.

Yeah, but I wear a belt and suspenders! Overkill is my business Big Grin

Tom L

French phrases you rarely hear: "trop de beurre" (too much butter)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 11:31 PM
Post: #7
RE: Is there a way to use %TOTAL or similar in RPN?
(05-09-2019 08:19 PM)Dirk.nl Wrote:  The Finance App has a very good percentage tool

Thanks Dirk, I didn't know that, really practical and usefull.

I'm still discovering the Prime, after waiting for buying the G2 living in Brazil is a bit frustating, I decided to buy the G1 and I'm having fun with it.

Cheers
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)