Post Reply 
No symbolic results using HP prime
05-04-2019, 12:42 PM
Post: #1
No symbolic results using HP prime
Hello, i recently got an HP prime which i found lovely to use. However, i've had some issues that i have no idea of solving. Searching haven't helped and im getting more and more frustrated.

I'll start of with my biggest issue right now. When differentiating equations, i seem to be unable to get an symbolic answer, instead the calculator seems to use the assigned value for the variable in question, and if it doesn't have a value it just uses "0" and gives a numerical answer to that.

Does anybody have an idea what im doing wrong? I'll Attach a screenshot so you can see what i mean. Doesn't seem to make any difference if i use the diff command or the derivate template. Ive tried using both small and large Xs but it doesnt make any difference.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-04-2019, 03:30 PM
Post: #2
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
(05-04-2019 12:42 PM)DuxDucisH Wrote:  Hello, i recently got an HP prime which i found lovely to use. However, i've had some issues that i have no idea of solving. Searching haven't helped and im getting more and more frustrated.

I'll start of with my biggest issue right now. When differentiating equations, i seem to be unable to get an symbolic answer, instead the calculator seems to use the assigned value for the variable in question, and if it doesn't have a value it just uses "0" and gives a numerical answer to that.

Does anybody have an idea what im doing wrong? I'll Attach a screenshot so you can see what i mean. Doesn't seem to make any difference if i use the diff command or the derivate template. Ive tried using both small and large Xs but it doesnt make any difference.

(The following assumes CAS mode, as seen in your screenshot.)

The variable X (upper case) is a system variable and always has a value stored in it, similar to the TI-83 or TI-84 series of calculators. Normally, one would delete a variable (to make it symbolic) and all would be as expected. However, system variables are built-in and cannot be deleted. So use the lower case x for your expressions. If you still get numerical values then it is likely that the lower case variable x has a value stored in it. You can delete the variable (to make it symbolic) via: purge(x).

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 08:05 AM
Post: #3
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
Thanks, but it didn't work. Not sure what i'm doing wrong


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 11:16 AM
Post: #4
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
Try a soft reset (ON+Symb or using the Reset hole at the back) or ESC+Apps+ON Wink
Best,

Aries Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 12:37 PM (This post was last modified: 05-08-2019 12:43 PM by roadrunner.)
Post: #5
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
Make sure x isn't defined as global in a program, or defined as a user variable:

   

-road

edited to correct syntax
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 02:13 PM
Post: #6
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
(05-08-2019 08:05 AM)DuxDucisH Wrote:  Thanks, but it didn't work. Not sure what i'm doing wrong

Your screenshot shows that the variable x still contains a numerical value (i.e. it is not symbolic). As others have pointed out, even though x is not a defined as a CAS variable, it seems to be defined elsewhere (either via an app or program). Either remove those instances, or use a different variable that is not defined.

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 02:26 PM
Post: #7
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
Isn't somewhat confusing when you purge(x)<ENTER> with info "No such variable x" and then you type x<ENTER> with 353.24 as result?

Geocaching Coords Solver, Number of triangles Puzzle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 03:24 PM
Post: #8
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
It's only confusing the first time Smile

-road
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 04:09 PM
Post: #9
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
How to delete a user variable:

https://www.hpmuseum.org/cgi-sys/cgiwrap...ead=254251

— Ian Abbott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 04:16 PM
Post: #10
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
As explained "x" is defined somewhere and being pulled in. Look at the user variable menu as shown, and if you find an "x" there, press delete on it.

If it is defined in a program or an application by an inconsiderate programmer, you'll need to find which it is.

Else just use x1 or so on till you do.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 04:23 PM
Post: #11
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
(05-08-2019 02:26 PM)chromos Wrote:  Isn't somewhat confusing when you purge(x)<ENTER> with info "No such variable x" and then you type x<ENTER> with 353.24 as result?

It's due to the fact that the purge command is specifically for CAS variables (variables created within the CAS view). Here's a short list of the types of variables you might have:

https://hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-215.html

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2019, 08:18 PM
Post: #12
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
Thank you all for reply to my (rhetorical?) question. I know about different variable types and how it works, but:

If you're working in CAS environment and one command (purge) is interpreting your x differently than other commands then it doesn't seem too logical. :-)

Geocaching Coords Solver, Number of triangles Puzzle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 07:06 AM
Post: #13
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
If "soft" reset and/or clearing the memory don't work, I suggest re-flashing the O.S. to the latest version Wink
Best,

Aries Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 07:56 AM (This post was last modified: 05-09-2019 07:57 AM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #14
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
(05-09-2019 07:06 AM)Aries Wrote:  If "soft" reset and/or clearing the memory don't work, I suggest re-flashing the O.S. to the latest version Wink
Best,

Aries Smile

You are not helping here with things like this...


The user has an x variable defined. Full Stop. Either the user defined it, or installed a program that installed it.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 10:55 AM
Post: #15
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
Oh … I was just helping, sorry if I was wrong Sad
All the best,

Aries Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 11:30 AM
Post: #16
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
(05-09-2019 10:55 AM)Aries Wrote:  Oh … I was just helping, sorry if I was wrong Sad
All the best,

Aries Smile

I think it was a good suggestion regardless of this particular problem already being identified.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2019, 07:00 PM
Post: #17
RE: No symbolic results using HP prime
(05-09-2019 11:30 AM)Zaphod Wrote:  
(05-09-2019 10:55 AM)Aries Wrote:  Oh … I was just helping, sorry if I was wrong Sad
All the best,

Aries Smile

I think it was a good suggestion regardless of this particular problem already being identified.

Thanks mate Wink
Best,

Aries Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)