WP 43S
06-11-2019, 09:53 PM
RE: WP 43S
The plan is to have a DM42 style keyboard printed -- no overlay.

Pauli
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-11-2019, 10:04 PM
Thanks for the explanation Pauli. A real printed keyboard would be very nice. If we can get the order quantity up, it might even be reasonably priced.
06-11-2019, 10:14 PM (This post was last modified: 06-11-2019 10:17 PM by ijabbott.)
(06-11-2019 03:49 PM)Leviset Wrote:  Pauli,
In the early 90s I was an IT Testing Team Leader for a large IT Shop.
I’d be more than welcome to ‘test’ the WP43S if that’s a help, as there are many more qualified Forum members than me to help with the coding! (I was a Systems Analyst/Programmer from 1979-90 (as a freelance contractor) then an IT Testing Team Leader (mainly on Tandem non/stop Mainframes and IBM 3090) between 1990-1992 and finally the running of Worldwide Computer & Network Live Operations between 1992-2004.
So I’ve not coded commercially since 1990 but have kept my ‘hands in use’ for my own projects although mainly using high level development tools like Microsoft Access, FileMaker Pro & Mathematica with a smattering of Python.
I’m assuming you only have a part built WS43S and are using an emulator of the WS43S to try out your source code?

As a very minor contributor to the project (mostly getting GNU make to play nice), I can tell you that the emulator is currently the platform of choice for development and testing of the code. It is written in C, and the emulator uses GTK+ 3 libraries for the graphical interface.

Quote:Whatever system your emulator runs in, I do have Windows 8.1/10, OSX, Linux, iOS and Raspberry Pi environment setups at home.
I’ve also owned the WP34S for a few years.
Dennis