Post Reply 
HP Prime malfunction(s)
04-19-2019, 02:07 PM
Post: #1
HP Prime malfunction(s)
Any info on how to test this calc "is it toast"? Specific: Tool Box, Prob,. Combo & Perm? Mine will not execute. Thanks in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2019, 02:54 PM
Post: #2
RE: HP Prime malfunction(s)
Um, any info that we can possibly understand?

You basically said "It bad. Why Bad?"

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2019, 03:43 PM
Post: #3
RE: HP Prime malfunction(s)
Attempting to compute a "combo or perm", I press, ON, Tool Box, 5, 2 and the display: "ERROR". Then I press OK and type "20,4" within the parenthesis: "ERROR:Syntac Error"
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2019, 03:55 PM
Post: #4
RE: HP Prime malfunction(s)
Reset?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2019, 07:17 PM
Post: #5
RE: HP Prime malfunction(s)
More frequent within the last few weeks than cumulatively over the many years that I have owned it.
Reset via "pin hole" on the back side.
Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2019, 10:27 PM
Post: #6
RE: HP Prime malfunction(s)
(04-19-2019 03:43 PM)tjfshp Wrote:  Attempting to compute a "combo or perm", I press, ON, Tool Box, 5, 2 and the display: "ERROR". Then I press OK and type "20,4" within the parenthesis: "ERROR:Syntac Error"

Could this possibly be due to your settings for fraction mark? Some folks prefer to use the comma "," symbol for their fraction mark, which usually then makes the semicolon ";" the separator symbol (in place of the comma).

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2019, 11:45 PM
Post: #7
RE: HP Prime malfunction(s)
Thank you, Hans:
I investigated my "settings" to discover that "RPN" is not acceptable as an "Entry" notation. Upon switching to Algebraic....all is well.


again, thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-20-2019, 01:13 AM
Post: #8
RE: HP Prime malfunction(s)
(04-19-2019 11:45 PM)tjfshp Wrote:  I investigated my "settings" to discover that "RPN" is not acceptable as an "Entry" notation. Upon switching to Algebraic....all is well.

RPN works for me. Try

20, ENTER, 4, Tool Box, 5, 2
4,845 (radix mark is '.')

Cui Bono?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-20-2019, 10:56 AM
Post: #9
RE: HP Prime malfunction(s)
Good Morning MFLEMING:

Very "thank you" to you. I prefer RPN, though my quest within this forum demonstrates my ineptness.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)