Best programming language for handling array calculations in parallel?
04-18-2019, 03:00 AM
Best programming language for handling array calculations in parallel?
I have some experience in just about every major programming language.

I built some software in python for fun, but I want to now take the project in a more serious direction.

Basically, the program does calculations on what is essentially a 100x7 array (100 rows x 7 columns). I want to speed up the python code significantly. I was thinking of rewriting it in FORTRAN using GPU acceleration for parallel calculation (like CUDA cores on my NVIDIA GPU).

I have never done parallel programming. Basically, my program does math on this 100x7 array (100 rows x 7 columns) and not much else.

I want the fastest possible way to do calculations, would running FORTRAN with GPU support be the fastest way to do this?

My code is already very fast in python, but I want to speed it up more.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2019, 02:58 PM
RE: Best programming language for handling array calculations in parallel?
I am going to guess Matlab with the Parallel processing toolbox:
https://www.mathworks.com/products/paral...uting.html
04-18-2019, 03:57 PM
There are Python packages for parallel processing including GPU acceleration but I have no experience with them. May be worth a try before you switch languages.

Also some matrix operations are much easier to parallelize than others so the amount of speedup you will get depends strongly on the nature of the calculations.
04-18-2019, 07:00 PM
"Basically, my program does math on this 100x7 array (100 rows x 7 columns) and not much else."

what does it do? We may take it as input to push our calculators, you know it may be fun!

(Although a 100x7 matrix on the 50g can already take some time)

Wikis are great, Contribute :)
04-18-2019, 07:36 PM