Post Reply 
StreamSmart 400, missing wire
05-06-2014, 01:00 PM
Post: #1
StreamSmart 400, missing wire
Hi.
I have opened a StreamSmart 400 to see what is inside. To my surprise one of the cables coming in from the "serial" cable is not connected to anything. There are four cables: green, white, red and black. The former three have a labeled position in the board (G,W,R) but the black one is floating around. Probably it was soldered to some part, but I cannot find a clear pad where it should be soldered.
Please, anyone having this device would take a look where the black cable is connected?. :-)

Inakiz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 04:00 PM (This post was last modified: 05-06-2014 04:06 PM by Gerson W. Barbosa.)
Post: #2
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
(05-06-2014 01:00 PM)inakiz Wrote:  Please, anyone having this device would take a look where the black cable is connected?. :-)

[Image: b9cf447a-6445-40d4-840e-6d6e8c804488_zps27145f29.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 06:15 PM
Post: #3
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
A picture is worth a thousand words...

Greetings,
    Massimo

-+×÷ ↔ left is right and right is wrong
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 06:40 PM (This post was last modified: 05-06-2014 06:41 PM by Tim Wessman.)
Post: #4
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
It's a magic black wire!

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 08:04 PM
Post: #5
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
It's just prepared for radio data transmission ... Wink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 09:13 PM
Post: #6
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
(05-06-2014 06:40 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  It's a magic black wire!
But it's missing the 'more magic' switch;-)

-- Ray
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 09:30 PM
Post: #7
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2014, 07:11 AM
Post: #8
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
Looks like it could cause a shortcut with some bad luck. I'd apply insulating tape.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2014, 07:06 PM
Post: #9
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
(05-06-2014 04:00 PM)Gerson W. Barbosa Wrote:  
(05-06-2014 01:00 PM)inakiz Wrote:  Please, anyone having this device would take a look where the black cable is connected?. :-)

[Image: b9cf447a-6445-40d4-840e-6d6e8c804488_zps27145f29.jpg]

What does the main chip says?

My website: erwin.ried.cl
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2014, 12:30 AM (This post was last modified: 05-08-2014 12:38 AM by Gerson W. Barbosa.)
Post: #10
RE: StreamSmart 400, missing wire
(05-07-2014 07:06 PM)eried Wrote:  What does the main chip says?

AT918AM7S64 (not sure about the first letter).

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bz0z2nkr3afu5q...AM7S64.JPG
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)