(HP-28S) Non-Invasive fix for dead arrow keys on clamshell calculators
12-21-2018, 05:51 AM (This post was last modified: 12-21-2018 06:34 AM by wyatt8740.)
(HP-28S) Non-Invasive fix for dead arrow keys on clamshell calculators
Hi. I'm not really a regular here, so I'm not sure if this would qualify as an "article" or not (which is why I'm posting it in general instead of articles), but I am a college student studying computer science who discovered the HP-28S and fell in love with it. I feel like all of the clamshells are under-represented here and elsewhere on the web – like they live in the shadow of the 48SX, which was an improvement in terms of connectivity but a step backwards in most other respects in my opinion, so I wanted to try to contribute to the meager knowledge pool I've been able to unearth for repairing them.

There are several images embedded, which you can click to view the original sizes of. If you want to tell me how badly I've done this, or what I should have done differently, or why I shouldn't have done what I did, I'm open to those comments. I am not under the delusion that this is a beautiful solution, or even a particularly good idea, but it's one that worked for me.
On to the story!

Unfortunately, my particular specimen has a problem in that it's got a crack in the case near where the lid clips to the lower body, and shortly after obtaining it I discovered that the arrow keys were causing trouble: first operating erratically, and then not at all unless I applied pressure to the case in the vicinity of the crack. I did, however, get one with an intact battery door, so in that regard at least I am blessed.

This is the best pre-repair photo I can find of my 28S (next to a 48SX I later purchased, but which I don't like as much as the 28 for programming on. I didn't get a 48GX because they cost so much more than a 48SX for a modern, loan-debt-ridden college student).
[Image: rDR0LKTh.jpg]