Post Reply 
How to convert units Using HP Prime
10-24-2018, 01:28 PM
Post: #1
How to convert units Using HP Prime
I will like to know how to convert units using the the HP Prime, the same way like the hp 48 g+ or hp 50g calculator? Can any one help me?

I want to convert units with my prime like this


Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2018, 04:32 AM
Post: #2
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
You will have to use the CONVERT command.

Not as slick as the 50g, but with the touch screen I've found it works well, since it is easy to edit previous commands.

-jgs
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2018, 05:18 AM
Post: #3
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
Hello,
I also suggest you to use the UNIT48 application for the Prime which mimic the Hp48 menu system.
It is not made by HP but it is very well done.
It is stored into the Hp Prime software in this forum.

I hope it helps,

Giancarlo
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2018, 06:16 AM
Post: #4
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
(10-26-2018 05:18 AM)Giancarlo Wrote:  It is stored into the Hp Prime software in this forum.

Here is a direct link: Units48
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2018, 06:22 AM
Post: #5
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
Hello,

The sto "arrow" (shown as |> here) is a shortcut to convert:

12(_m) |> _cm

Will convert from meter to cm...

Cyrille

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own. I do not speak for HP.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2018, 06:31 PM (This post was last modified: 10-26-2018 06:39 PM by cdmackay.)
Post: #6
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
(10-26-2018 06:22 AM)cyrille de brébisson Wrote:  Hello,

The sto "arrow" (shown as |> here) is a shortcut to convert:

12(_m) |> _cm

Will convert from meter to cm...

Cyrille

That doesn't work for me; I think it needs to be:

12_(m) |> _cm

edit: nice to see that entering n_ automatically adds the ()

Cambridge, UK
41CL 12/15C DM15/16 71B 17B/BII/bII+ 28S 42S/DM42 48GX 50g 35s 30b/WP34S Prime G2
& Casios, Rockwell 18R :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2018, 06:47 PM (This post was last modified: 10-26-2018 06:49 PM by cdmackay.)
Post: #7
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
I have to add, I think the native menu-based way is pretty good, surely on a par with that on my 50g.

• Enter number
• press Units key
• select from dimension and chosen unit
• touch Sto▸ on screen (or key)
• press Units key
• select to dimension and chosen unit
Enter

Another nice touch is that it builds up the shortcut for you as you type, which you can remember for non-menu key use, and then finally converts to the full CONVERT() form on Enter, e.g. for programming.

Cambridge, UK
41CL 12/15C DM15/16 71B 17B/BII/bII+ 28S 42S/DM42 48GX 50g 35s 30b/WP34S Prime G2
& Casios, Rockwell 18R :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2018, 03:19 AM (This post was last modified: 10-28-2018 03:31 AM by NetMage.)
Post: #8
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
(10-26-2018 06:47 PM)cdmackay Wrote:  I have to add, I think the native menu-based way is pretty good, surely on a par with that on my 50g.

• Enter number
• press Units key
• select from dimension and chosen unit
• touch Sto▸ on screen (or key)
• press Units key
• select to dimension and chosen unit
Enter

Another nice touch is that it builds up the shortcut for you as you type, which you can remember for non-menu key use, and then finally converts to the full CONVERT() form on Enter, e.g. for programming.

I think it is terrible compare to the 48g-50g series. Ignoring handling complicated units or unit math, consider:

Enter number
Press right shift+Units
Select unit type
Press unit
Press left shift+new unit

I count 11 keystrokes on the Prime versus 6 on the 50g counting touching the screen as one keystroke (which isn’t entirely fair) and of course the comparison is much worse if you then want to convert to another unit.

Is there a similar shortcut to STO> in RPN Enty mode on the Prime?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2018, 04:06 AM
Post: #9
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
(10-28-2018 03:19 AM)NetMage Wrote:  
(10-26-2018 06:47 PM)cdmackay Wrote:  I have to add, I think the native menu-based way is pretty good, surely on a par with that on my 50g.

• Enter number
• press Units key
• select from dimension and chosen unit
• touch Sto▸ on screen (or key)
• press Units key
• select to dimension and chosen unit
Enter

Another nice touch is that it builds up the shortcut for you as you type, which you can remember for non-menu key use, and then finally converts to the full CONVERT() form on Enter, e.g. for programming.

I think it is terrible compare to the 48g-50g series. Ignoring handling complicated units or unit math, consider:

Enter number
Press right shift+Units
Select unit type
Press unit
Press left shift+new unit

I count 11 keystrokes on the Prime versus 6 on the 50g counting touching the screen as one keystroke (which isn’t entirely fair) and of course the comparison is much worse if you then want to convert to another unit.

Is there a similar shortcut to STO> in RPN Enty mode on the Prime?

Splendid idea! - Now something more...how to implement it?

HP calculatrice team should introduce soft menu keys
MENU CUSTOM 'CST' borrowed from the old 48-series
would fit the new touch screen perfectly!
"Just" Introduce [Shift] hold feature:
There is already the [Menu] key there - use [Shift] & hold
[Shift] & hold [Units] is ready for a soft menu approach!
[Shift] & [View] could view the next page of menus

and don't forget the [Help]-system update
________________________________________
MENU used to work on one row only = a list
with this calculator one has already the six soft keys here and there.
Several lists inside the list would help to build a custom menu MATRIX
Yes!
A screen filled with soft menus in a touch screen: 10 rows of keys!
What do you think, Cyrille? A week or two? Easy as an Android 9?
VPN
PS: if you would rather have a secondary ordinary Shift
NOW : [Shift] = shift on, 2nd [Shift] = shift off
FUTURE:[Shift] = shift on, 2nd [Shift] = 2nd shift on, 3rd [Shift] = shift off
You need to code the annunciator in the top row with a new color
(just don't use yellow)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2018, 04:35 PM
Post: #10
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
(10-28-2018 03:19 AM)NetMage Wrote:  I think it is terrible compare to the 48g-50g series. Ignoring handling complicated units or unit math, consider:

Enter number
Press right shift+Units
Select unit type
Press unit
Press left shift+new unit

I count 11 keystrokes on the Prime versus 6 on the 50g counting touching the screen as one keystroke (which isn’t entirely fair) and of course the comparison is much worse if you then want to convert to another unit.

True (although I make that 7, not 6), but you also need to add a few more if your chosen unit type and unit aren't in the first "page" displayed, which case the Prime handles a little better, with the larger screen estate available.

I'm also perhaps not familiar enough with 50g units to be used to it; I don't find the Prime method slower, cognitively or physically.

Nice to have the Units48 app though, so you have the best of both worlds.

Cambridge, UK
41CL 12/15C DM15/16 71B 17B/BII/bII+ 28S 42S/DM42 48GX 50g 35s 30b/WP34S Prime G2
& Casios, Rockwell 18R :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-21-2018, 07:04 AM
Post: #11
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
I’ll havbe to try that program. Why do you think the 50g has 7?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-21-2018, 06:24 PM
Post: #12
RE: How to convert units Using HP Prime
(12-21-2018 07:04 AM)NetMage Wrote:  I’ll havbe to try that program. Why do you think the 50g has 7?

I think I might have been testing it with a unit that required a Nxt on the 50g, but no extra action on the Prime, since they're all in one list, albeit that would require a scroll.

Cambridge, UK
41CL 12/15C DM15/16 71B 17B/BII/bII+ 28S 42S/DM42 48GX 50g 35s 30b/WP34S Prime G2
& Casios, Rockwell 18R :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)