Keyboard Colors Update
09-10-2018, 09:48 PM
Keyboard Colors Update
I'm a semiretired engineer who purchased a Prime several years back. I've decided to learn to program it, finally, and forgot how difficult it was for me to see all the orange keyboard legends. With reading glasses on, and tilting the unit under a strong light, I can make them out.

I now understand a new keyboard has arrived?

Does HP do any kind of exchange for older units? Has anyone actually changed keyboards? etc.

I ask as budgets are tight and I can't casually buy a new one and simply dispose of the one I purchased.

Thanks for any or all thoughts.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2018, 07:06 AM
RE: Keyboard Colors Update
You might find it less stressful on the eyes to use the virtual calculator and connectivity kit, then transfer programs to the real calculator.

— Ian Abbott
09-11-2018, 07:28 AM
As far as I know, there is no exchange program or any reasonable way to upgrade the older keyboard (except for stickers, see below). You could sell yours to help pay for a newer version. I would definitely look at an example of the newer version in person first (NOT a photograph!) before you did anything. Although the key color contrast is improved on the newer Prime production versions (and the G2), I find it is not all that much better for *my* aging eyes.

There was a big discussion on this topic five years ago:
http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/showthread...00#pid1200

On Page 2 of that discussion Joe Horn even went to the trouble of applying stickers to the Prime keys. The results were very good but that was a lot of work.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
09-11-2018, 07:30 AM (This post was last modified: 09-11-2018 07:33 AM by StephenG1CMZ.)
There is a new, faster, version coming out - the G2.