Post Reply 
help programming
03-22-2014, 05:43 PM (This post was last modified: 03-22-2014 05:44 PM by Arcturus314.)
Post: #1
help programming
So I wrote a program that is giving me a syntax error:

EXPORT PROG1(A,B,C)
BEGIN
LOCAL D=0;
LOCAL E=0;
(-B+SQUAREROOT(B^2-4AC))/(2A)->D;
(-B-SQUAREROOT(B^2-4AC))/(2A)->E;
MSGBOX(D,E);
END;

squareroot is replaced by the square root symbol in the code
So what is the problem?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2014, 05:49 PM
Post: #2
RE: help programming
(03-22-2014 05:43 PM)Arcturus314 Wrote:  So I wrote a program that is giving me a syntax error:

EXPORT PROG1(A,B,C)
BEGIN
LOCAL D=0;
LOCAL E=0;
(-B+SQUAREROOT(B^2-4AC))/(2A)->D;
(-B-SQUAREROOT(B^2-4AC))/(2A)->E;
MSGBOX(D,E);
END;

squareroot is replaced by the square root symbol in the code
So what is the problem?

I presume that -> is the actual store arrow. The problem (based solely on your source code) is that MSGBOX() only takes a single argument. You've separated D and E as two arguments and there is no such instance of MSGBOX() using two arguments. Instead, try: MSGBOX({D,E}).

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2014, 05:51 PM
Post: #3
RE: help programming
Have you tried putting a multiplication symbol (*) between the 4 and the A and the A and the C, and the 2 and he A?

BAF

(03-22-2014 05:43 PM)Arcturus314 Wrote:  So I wrote a program that is giving me a syntax error:

EXPORT PROG1(A,B,C)
BEGIN
LOCAL D=0;
LOCAL E=0;
(-B+SQUAREROOT(B^2-4AC))/(2A)->D;
(-B-SQUAREROOT(B^2-4AC))/(2A)->E;
MSGBOX(D,E);
END;

squareroot is replaced by the square root symbol in the code
So what is the problem?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2014, 05:51 PM (This post was last modified: 03-22-2014 05:55 PM by Arcturus314.)
Post: #4
RE: help programming
Thank you, that fixed it! I didn't know that msgbox only accepted 1 argument. I also assumed it would multiply variables automatically.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2014, 06:13 PM
Post: #5
RE: help programming
When you press the "CHECK" button, where did the cursor go? My guess is it put it right on the message box.

TW

Although I work for HP, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2014, 06:25 PM
Post: #6
RE: help programming
(03-22-2014 06:13 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  When you press the "CHECK" button, where did the cursor go? My guess is it put it right on the message box.

Yep. Just tested it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)