Post Reply 
First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
08-11-2017, 01:57 PM (This post was last modified: 08-11-2017 08:29 PM by Namir.)
Post: #1
First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
I have been looking at my new Casio fx-CG500 (CG500 for short) and focusing on its programming. The manual for the CG500 contains a section that lists all of the programming commands and constructs. The text contains general syntax for the commands but is very light on examples. Casio has not included a short library of programs which would have really helped.

Programming the CG500 requires that you understand a few rules. If you program a function the interpreter expects that the function returns a simple expression--no loops or decision making constructs! The CG500 allows you to create programs that act as SUBroutines of FUNctions with parameters. The function-type programs use the Return statement followed by an expression. The SUB-type program can use the Return command all by itself to exit.

The first rule for programming numerical analysis code is that you MUST include the SetDecimal command at the start of your code. This command tells the CG500 interpreter that you wish to calculate numeric results AND NOT symbolic ones. Failing to do so (as I experienced first) will cause your programs to execute very slowly and virtually come to a halt. So, including the SetDecimal command is a must.

The second rule is to include the OPTIONAL Local statement. Unlike the HP Prime, the CG500 allows you to use variables as you go. If you do not declare them in the Local statement, the CG500 sets these variables as global and their values remain after the program ends execution. This may be handy for debugging (of course you can use Print commands to display the values of any variable or program parameters). You can use the delVar command to delete global variables. Using the Local statement is much more practical than a long list of delVar commands inserted before the program ends. There are some cases, such as error management, when global variables can be used to communicate between programs without using parameters.

After a frustrating experience, I was able to program Newton's algorithm and have it work properly.

I have also noticed that the CG500 lacks advanced math functions like Zeta, Hermite polynomial, Laguerre polynomials, and so on. So Cyril, Time, and the rest of the team can breath easy in this department.

This si as far as I have tested the CG500.

Namir
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2017, 01:25 AM
Post: #2
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
Is that a Casio FX-CG50 ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2017, 02:00 AM
Post: #3
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
(08-12-2017 01:25 AM)Gamo Wrote:  Is that a Casio FX-CG50 ?

It's a PRIZM upgrade
[attachment=5109]
BEST!
SlideRule
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2017, 02:05 AM
Post: #4
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
(08-12-2017 01:25 AM)Gamo Wrote:  Is that a Casio FX-CG50 ?

No

It's a touchscreen from Casio, competing with the Prime.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2017, 02:43 AM (This post was last modified: 08-12-2017 02:46 AM by Eddie W. Shore.)
Post: #5
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
Namir, thank you for the review!


I think there is some confusion on this thread.

Casio fx-CG50: an update of the original Casio Prizm (fx-CG10 or fx-CG20). This is basically the best version of the fx-9860g, with color. This is the Casio equivalent (for lack of a better word) of a HP 39g or TI-84 Plus CE.

Casio fx-CG500: This is the Classpad: It has a stylus, with CAS capabilities out of the box. As I understand it, the only difference between the fx-CG400 and fx-CG500 is that the latter doesn't have a QWERTY soft keyboard, allowing it to be on standardized tests. The fx-CG500 is on the level of the HP Prime and TI-89.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2017, 07:02 AM
Post: #6
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
(08-12-2017 02:43 AM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  The fx-CG500 is on the level of the HP Prime and TI-89.

Wouldn't be the nspire series the equivalent of the Prime?

Wikis are great, Contribute :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2017, 12:15 PM
Post: #7
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
(08-12-2017 02:43 AM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  I think there is some confusion on this thread.
Casio fx-CG50: an update of the original Casio Prizm (fx-CG10 or fx-CG20)...
Casio fx-CG500: This is the Classpad...

Perhaps the following New PRIZM™ CAS fx-CG500 - Casio USA can clarify.

BEST!
SlideRule
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2017, 01:47 PM
Post: #8
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
(08-12-2017 07:02 AM)pier4r Wrote:  
(08-12-2017 02:43 AM)Eddie W. Shore Wrote:  The fx-CG500 is on the level of the HP Prime and TI-89.

Wouldn't be the nspire series the equivalent of the Prime?

Only the nSpire-CAS version.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2017, 06:02 AM
Post: #9
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
(08-12-2017 01:25 AM)Gamo Wrote:  Is that a Casio FX-CG50 ?
No it is the CG500.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-22-2021, 09:46 AM
Post: #10
RE: First and brief impression on programming the Casio fx-CG500
(08-11-2017 01:57 PM)Namir Wrote:  I have been looking at my new Casio fx-CG500 (CG500 for short) and focusing on its programming. The manual for the CG500 contains a section that lists all of the programming commands and constructs. The text contains general syntax for the commands but is very light on examples. Casio has not included a short library of programs which would have really helped.
Namir

Have you done any more with the 500? I'm just starting with it and I can't figure out how to make BASIC use the whole screen and how to clear the screen to a color other than white without writing a screenful of points one by one.

Tom L
Cui bono?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)