HP Forums
Is it possible to run apps from programs - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: Is it possible to run apps from programs (/thread-595.html)



Is it possible to run apps from programs - Mickpc - 02-02-2014 04:09 AM

Is it possible to do so? For example I have the follwing program:

LININT

Code:

EXPORT X1,X2,Y1,Y2; 
EXPORT LININT() 
BEGIN 
INPUT(X2,"X INTERCEPT","Xi=","ENTER THE X INTERCEPT"); 
INPUT(Y1,"Y INTERCEPT","Yi=","ENTER THE Y INTERCEPT"); 
'Y1=M*X1+C'▶E1; 
'Y2=M*X2+C'▶E2; 
0▶X1; 
0▶Y2; 
STARTAPP("Solve"); 
STARTVIEW(2);        
END;
Right after the STARTVIEW(2) I would like to set the variables to solve for and then solve it. Is it possible to do this and where do I find the commands to do so?

Kinds Regards

Mick C


RE: Is it possible to run apps from programs - Dominik Holenstein - 02-02-2014 07:15 AM

Mick,

Does this program what you want to achieve?

Code:
EXPORT X1,X2,Y1,Y2;
EXPORT LININT()  
BEGIN  
 LOCAL i;
 INPUT(X2,"X INTERCEPT","Xi=","ENTER THE X INTERCEPT");       
 INPUT(Y1,"Y INTERCEPT","Yi=","ENTER THE Y INTERCEPT");  

 'Y1=M*X1+C'▶E1;  
 'Y2=M*X2+C'▶E2;  
 0▶X1;
 0▶Y2;

 STARTAPP("Solve");

 FOR i := 0 TO 9 DO
  UNCHECK(i);
 END;

 CHOOSE(eq, "Choose Equation", "E1", "E2");
 
 CASE 
  IF eq == 1 THEN
   CHECK(1); 
  END;
  IF eq == 2 THEN
   CHECK(2);
  END;
 END; // END CASE

 STARTVIEW(2);      
   
END;

What the program does:
  1. This program starts the Solve app after entering the X2 and Y1 variables
  2. It uncheckes all equations in the list
  3. Now you can choose the equation to solve
  4. The program switches to the numeric view


Do you want to solve the equations seperately or both together?

Dominik


RE: Is it possible to run apps from programs - Giancarlo - 02-02-2014 07:16 AM

There was a thread a couple of weeks ago with object something like 'Equation library' that i dealed with Larsf.
There were a couple of approachs to start the solve by program.

Hope it helps,

Giancarlo


RE: Is it possible to run apps from programs - Dominik Holenstein - 02-02-2014 07:22 AM

Giancarlo,

Do you mean this thread?
HP Prime programmable eq solver

This is one of the must useful topics I have read so far in this forum, many thanks!

Dominik


RE: Is it possible to run apps from programs - Giancarlo - 02-02-2014 04:57 PM

Hello Dominik,
The purists could argue that trying to run the HP PRIME as the 'HP48/49/50 solve' is not consistent with the new 'vision' :+)

bye

Giancarlo


RE: Is it possible to run apps from programs - Mickpc - 02-02-2014 10:25 PM

Are you suggesting that I am trying to do this backwards?

Edit: How else would you work with multiple equations other than typing them in repeatedly?

Regards

Mick C