HP Forums
PRINT(); command weird behavior.(SOLVED). - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: PRINT(); command weird behavior.(SOLVED). (/thread-3472.html)



PRINT(); command weird behavior.(SOLVED). - Spybot - 03-24-2015 06:10 PM


Hi Everyone!
I have a question about the PRINT(); command.
I don't know why my program is skiping the PRINT(); command...
I have the following code:



EXPORT test()
BEGIN
LOCAL me;OP;

me:="To find the shortest distance between a point and a line, you need to provide one of the following data sets:
1) Ax+By+C=0 & P(x₀,y₀)
2) y=mx+b & P(x₀,y₀)
3) P1(x₁,y₁),P2(x₂,y₂) & P(x₀,y₀).";

PRINT();
PRINT(me);

CHOOSE(OP,"I Have...",{"Ax+By+C=0 & (x₀,y₀)","y=mx+b & P(x₀,y₀)","P1(x₁,y₁),P2(x₂,y₂) & P(x₀,y₀)"});
END;


when I run this code, it jumps right straight to the CHOOSE command, and I never get to see the text.

Any ideas about what could I be doing wrong! I'll appreciate it.


RE: PRINT(); command weird behavior. - Han - 03-24-2015 06:23 PM

(03-24-2015 06:10 PM)Spybot Wrote:  
Hi Everyone!
I have a question about the PRINT(); command.
I don't know why my program is skiping the PRINT(); command...
I have the following code:



EXPORT test()
BEGIN
LOCAL me;OP;

me:="To find the shortest distance between a point and a line, you need to provide one of the following data sets:
1) Ax+By+C=0 & P(x₀,y₀)
2) y=mx+b & P(x₀,y₀)
3) P1(x₁,y₁),P2(x₂,y₂) & P(x₀,y₀).";

PRINT();
PRINT(me);

CHOOSE(OP,"I Have...",{"Ax+By+C=0 & (x₀,y₀)","y=mx+b & P(x₀,y₀)","P1(x₁,y₁),P2(x₂,y₂) & P(x₀,y₀)"});
END;


when I run this code, it jumps right straight to the CHOOSE command, and I never get to see the text.

Any ideas about what could I be doing wrong! I'll appreciate it.

CHOOSE operates on a different graphics buffer than PRINT, if I'm not mistaken. Does it still behave this way if you place a WAIT(-1) in between the PRINT and CHOOSE ?


RE: PRINT(); command weird behavior. - DrD - 03-24-2015 06:42 PM

The LOCAL declaration needs a comma separator:

LOCAL me, OP;

Otherwise a wait(-1); for the terminal screen to display me:

Code:

EXPORT test()
BEGIN
LOCAL me,OP;

me:="To find the shortest distance between a point and a line, you need to provide one of the following data sets:
1) Ax+By+C=0 & P(x₀,y₀)
2) y=mx+b & P(x₀,y₀)
3) P1(x₁,y₁),P2(x₂,y₂) & P(x₀,y₀).";

PRINT();
PRINT(me);
wait(-1);

CHOOSE(OP,"I Have...",{"Ax+By+C=0 & (x₀,y₀)","y=mx+b & P(x₀,y₀)","P1(x₁,y₁),P2(x₂,y₂) & P(x₀,y₀)"});
END;



RE: PRINT(); command weird behavior. - salvomic - 03-24-2015 06:50 PM

(03-24-2015 06:42 PM)DrD Wrote:  The LOCAL declaration needs a comma separator:

LOCAL me, OP;

Otherwise a wait(-1); for the terminal screen to display me:

yes, in fact.
I was writing the same thing Wink

it should be the comma...

salvo


RE: PRINT(); command weird behavior. - Spybot - 03-24-2015 06:56 PM

Thank you very much Guys!

Very valuable answers!!!