HP Forums
WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Not HP Calculators (/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Not quite HP Calculators - but related (/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes (/thread-2476.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - pascal_meheut - 12-21-2015 08:46 PM

(12-21-2015 08:41 PM)Marcio Wrote:  When is the 34s going Droid? Smile

When someone has the time and courage to implement it and support many resolutions, OS versions and so on...


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Sanjeev Visvanatha - 12-22-2015 03:29 AM

Build 3842 throws an unexpected result when trying to get the Version of the firmware through the following keystrokes:

[h] [3] [3] (X.FCN->VERS)

The menu item selected is ???, and executing that returns "Undefined OP-CODE".

Tested on HP30B hardware running Build 3842.


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - walter b - 12-22-2015 06:32 AM

Oops! It works on the classical emulator though. We'll investigate.

d:-?


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Marcus von Cube - 12-22-2015 09:44 AM

(12-22-2015 03:29 AM)Sanjeev Visvanatha Wrote:  Build 3842 throws an unexpected result when trying to get the Version of the firmware through the following keystrokes:
...

There must be a problem with my new (Win7) build environment. I'm going to rebuild on my XP VM and post the results soon.


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - fhub - 12-22-2015 10:39 AM

(12-22-2015 09:44 AM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  I'm going to rebuild on my XP VM and post the results soon.
Hi Marcus!

I see that you've now updated the real builds, but since you didn't also update the emulator EXEs, they still suffer from the complex 0^x bug ... Sad

Franz


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Marcus von Cube - 12-22-2015 11:28 AM

(12-22-2015 10:39 AM)fhub Wrote:  
(12-22-2015 09:44 AM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  I'm going to rebuild on my XP VM and post the results soon.
Hi Marcus!

I see that you've now updated the real builds, but since you didn't also update the emulator EXEs, they still suffer from the complex 0^x bug ... Sad

Franz
Thanks for the hint. I'm working on fixing my build issues. I'll update the emulator(s) later today.

EDIT: Done!


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - fhub - 12-22-2015 01:20 PM

(12-22-2015 11:28 AM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  EDIT: Done!
Yep, everything working fine again - many thanks! Smile

BTW, maybe you can update my program 'PF.wp34s' in the library with the attached new version (only when you have nothing else to do)?
This new version is about 10-times faster and it displays the exponents for multiple factors in the alpha display.
Of course it's not necessary to make new builds only for this ...

Franz


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Marcus von Cube - 12-22-2015 01:46 PM

(12-22-2015 01:20 PM)fhub Wrote:  BTW, maybe you can update my program 'PF.wp34s' in the library with the attached new version (only when you have nothing else to do)?

Gern geschehen! Smile


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - emece67 - 01-06-2016 09:58 PM

I've found another bug, this time in the (XROM) code for the complex gudermannian function. For all arguments it throws an "Illegal Operation" error. Both the real machine and the emulator show it.

Its current code is:
Code:
        XLBL"cpx_gd"
        xIN MONADIC_COMPLEX
        [cmplx]Num 1/2
        [cmplx][times]
        [cmplx]TANH
        [cmplx]ATAN
        [cmplx]RCL+ Z   // incidentally, this should be RCL+ X
        xOUT xOUT_NORMAL

This code uses the definition of the complex gudermannian function:
\[gd(z) = 2\arctan(\tanh{z\over2})\]

The problem is that [cmplx]ATAN is implemented also in XROM, inside another xIN/xOUT environment. As xIN/xOUT cannot be nested this causes the error.

A workaround consists in using a different definition for the complex gudermannian function, namely \[gd(z) = \arcsin(\tanh z)\]
with code:
Code:
        XLBL"cpx_gd"
        xIN MONADIC_COMPLEX
        [cmplx]TANH
        GSB cpx_asin
        xOUT xOUT_NORMAL

Hope this helps, regards.


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Marcus von Cube - 01-06-2016 10:26 PM

Thanks for pointing this out. I'm sure Pauli will fix it. I'l do the recompile then.


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Paul Dale - 01-06-2016 11:01 PM

Nice catch. I'll apply the fix once I get back to a machine that can access the subversion server.

This is a fall out of the space saving measures we've done, complex atan used to be in C and this worked fine, but it was moved to XROM which saved memory.


- Pauli


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - walter b - 01-06-2016 11:07 PM

(01-06-2016 11:01 PM)Paul Dale Wrote:  This is a fall out of the space saving measures we've done, complex atan used to be in C and this worked fine, but it was moved to XROM which saved memory.

Wir sparen, koste es was es wolle (~ We save regardless of the costs). Wink

d:-)


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Paul Dale - 01-07-2016 07:19 AM

(01-06-2016 11:07 PM)walter b Wrote:  Wir sparen, koste es was es wolle (~ We save regardless of the costs). Wink

This one was an all around win I think. The bulk of the work is still done in C.

The patch has been committed.


- Pauli


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Marcus von Cube - 01-07-2016 03:14 PM

(01-07-2016 07:19 AM)Paul Dale Wrote:  The patch has been committed.
... and built.


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - emece67 - 01-13-2016 08:49 AM

I use to use the Qt emulator with the TitleBar hidden. Today I opened a remote desktop session to my desktop from a laptop with a screen smaller than that on my desktop. Then I tried to open the Qt emulator and its window opened off screen.

The problem is that, when the Qt emulator is placed off screen AND the TitleBar is hidden, there is no way to move it on screen again. All usual (Win7) methods fail. Among the methods I've tried are: right-click over the thumbnail that appears when hovering over the taskbar icon (the maximize/minimize/move... menu does not appear); WIN key + space (same); WIN key + arrow keys (no response); double click on the show desktop button (same); cascade windows (same)...

Regards.


Moving off-screen window - striegel - 01-13-2016 11:10 AM

(01-13-2016 08:49 AM)emece67 Wrote:  ...
The problem is that, when the Qt emulator is placed off screen AND the TitleBar is hidden, there is no way to move it on screen again. All usual (Win7) methods fail. Among the methods I've tried are: right-click over the thumbnail that appears when hovering over the taskbar icon (the maximize/minimize/move... menu does not appear); WIN key + space (same); WIN key + arrow keys (no response); double click on the show desktop button (same); cascade windows (same)...
...

Have you tried using Alt+Tab to select a different window and Alt+Tab to re-select the emulator then Alt+space then the m key then one arrow key followed by moving the mouse to bring the window into view?


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - emece67 - 01-13-2016 03:04 PM

(01-13-2016 11:10 AM)striegel Wrote:  Have you tried using Alt+Tab to select a different window and Alt+Tab to re-select the emulator then Alt+space then the m key then one arrow key followed by moving the mouse to bring the window into view?

Yes, Alt+space does not open the menu and Alt+space m arrow does nothing.


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - fhub - 01-13-2016 03:10 PM

(01-13-2016 03:04 PM)emece67 Wrote:  Yes, Alt+space does not open the menu and Alt+space m arrow does nothing.
Well, you can change the window position manually in the registry:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\WP-34s\WP34sEmulator\MainWindow]
"Position"="@Point(160 35)"

Franz


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - Ivan Rancati - 01-18-2016 05:41 PM

Very small issue on the Linux emulator:

Selecting "Help" / "Show Website" results in
Quote:The file or folder http://wp34s.sourceforge.net/ does not exist.

I downloaded the emulator today from http://sourceforge.net/projects/wp34s/
"Help" / "About" shows
Build date: Jan 9 2016
Svn revision: 3872

I did not erase the previous install, I just refreshed my installation with
Code:
tar tzf /tmp/wp-34s-emulator-linux64.tgz

Not sure whether this very small issue was present on the previous version I had.

Thanks and best regards,
Ivan


RE: WP 34S and 31S bugs and fixes - pascal_meheut - 01-18-2016 06:11 PM

Works fine on my Ubuntu install. Which liinux version do you use?