HP Forums
TI 89/92/V200 BASIC question - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Not HP Calculators (/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Not remotely HP Calculators (/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: TI 89/92/V200 BASIC question (/thread-20935.html)



TI 89/92/V200 BASIC question - Jeff_Birt - 12-01-2023 07:54 PM

As I have been playing with my V200 again one thing that struck me was the seeming lack of a way to have an input prompt and entry on same line, i.e.

Code:
Input"Value?",x

Results in: (pipe represents flashing cursor)
Value?
|

This seems absurd to me but perhaps I'm missing something? The comma seems to be only valid separator.


RE: TI 89/92/V200 BASIC question - Dave Britten - 12-01-2023 08:43 PM

I believe your observation regarding the Input command is correct, and is one of the few things that annoy me about the otherwise-great TI-92 Basic. You can, however, build a dialog box with multiple input fields, and prompt text directly to the left of each field. This also gives you the ability to provide default values for each field, so I rarely use Input.


RE: TI 89/92/V200 BASIC question - rawi - 12-01-2023 09:14 PM

Dave is right. The command: request "value",x
is the better option.


RE: TI 89/92/V200 BASIC question - Jeff_Birt - 12-02-2023 01:25 AM

Thanks, I will try using a dialog box and see how that works.