HP Forums
SystemRPL using MASD compiler - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: General Forum (/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: SystemRPL using MASD compiler (/thread-18422.html)

SystemRPL using MASD compiler - Marc5278 - 05-29-2022 10:40 PM

I have some experience in UserRPL, but I would like to start programming in SystemRPL using the HP50g's compiler (MASD).

I want to start my SystemRPL programming journey by adding two real numbers.

I wrote the following:
Code:

"!NO CODE
!RPL
::
% 1 %+
;
@
"

When I press "ASM" key I receive an error message "asm Error: Invalid file". After I got the error message I press "ER" to understand the error.

After I press the "ER" key I get the message "label expected" and the cursor appears at the % symbol just before the "+" symbol.

Can you give some hints to understand what I am doing wrong?

What is the next step after the program is compiled?

Thank you in advance.

RE: SystemRPL using MASD compiler - Joe Horn - 05-30-2022 03:06 AM

Do you have Flag -92 set correctly? Clear it for assembly mode, and set for System RPL mode.

The AUR puts it this way: "Note: if the Flag –92 is set, MASD starts in !RPL and !NO CODE mode."

Appendix C describes flag -92 this way:
"Assembler Mode.
Clear: Assembler defaults to making code objects.
Set: Assembler defaults to making System-RPL programs."

EDIT: In case the above was unclear, just set flag -92 and omit the leading two lines from your program (Start with :: ). And be sure that the final character is "@", not followed by a carriage return.

RE: SystemRPL using MASD compiler - Gjermund Skailand - 05-30-2022 09:53 AM

Remember
The very last character in the file must be "@"
no trailing spaces, no carriage returns
BR Gjermund

RE: SystemRPL using MASD compiler - DavidM - 05-30-2022 10:22 AM