HP Forums
How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? (/thread-14117.html)



How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - What_Else - 12-06-2019 09:31 PM

Hello, I bought an HP Prime there is very little time!
I wanted to test the HP Prime Basic language by doing a vector product calculation program.
The problem is that I can not at all include variables in INPUT (I wish I could enter 4x for example instead of 4)
Code:

EXPORT Produit_Vectoriel()
BEGIN

LOCAL A,B,C,D,E,F;
LOCAL X,Y,Z,N;

INPUT({A,B,C},"Vecteur 1",{"X = ","Y = ","Z = "});

INPUT({D,E,F},"Vecteur 2",{"X' = ","Y' = ","Z' = "});
CAS("B*F*-C*E▶X");
C*D-A*F▶Y;
A*E-B*D▶Z;
CAS("sqrt(X^2+Y^2+Z^2)▶N");


PRINT();
PRINT(" ");
PRINT(" Résultat :");
PRINT(" |"+X);
PRINT(" |"+Y);
PRINT(" |"+Z);
PRINT(" ");
PRINT(" Norme : "+N);

END;

Thank you Smile


RE: How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - Dougggg - 12-07-2019 10:14 PM

If you do input as a string you can use the EXPR() command

EXPR("4*X");


RE: How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - What_Else - 12-07-2019 10:48 PM

(12-07-2019 10:14 PM)Dougggg Wrote:  If you do input as a string you can use the EXPR() command

EXPR("4*X");

Have I to put that in the code of the program, or when I use it ?
In fact, my program works, I would just like to know how to integrate variables into the calculation Smile (i don't know if that's the good method)

[Image: 1575759619-az.png]


RE: How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - Dougggg - 12-09-2019 03:11 AM

here is an example that worked for me to input a formula with variables in the input command:

INPUT({X,{FF,[8]}});
Y:=EVAL(FF);

If that is your question


RE: How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - What_Else - 12-09-2019 06:29 PM

(12-09-2019 03:11 AM)Dougggg Wrote:  here is an example that worked for me to input a formula with variables in the input command:

INPUT({X,{FF,[8]}});
Y:=EVAL(FF);

If that is your question

The program does'nt start with these lines, where do i should put there ?


RE: How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - Dougggg - 12-10-2019 04:06 AM

That was just example of how to do the input statement to accept a string, your variables maybe different


RE: How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - CyberAngel - 12-10-2019 06:15 PM

(12-09-2019 03:11 AM)Dougggg Wrote:  here is an example that worked for me to input a formula with variables in the input command:

INPUT({X,{FF,[8]}});
Y:=EVAL(FF);

If that is your question

[8] TYPE string
can be evaluated to other suitable types


RE: How to enter a variable in an INPUT ? - What_Else - 12-10-2019 06:40 PM

(12-10-2019 06:15 PM)CyberAngel Wrote:  
(12-09-2019 03:11 AM)Dougggg Wrote:  here is an example that worked for me to input a formula with variables in the input command:

INPUT({X,{FF,[8]}});
Y:=EVAL(FF);

If that is your question

[8] TYPE string
can be evaluated to other suitable types

Do you have any example, like a little program with these lines ?