HP Forums
Casio fx-CG50 Python Error - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Not HP Calculators (/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Not remotely HP Calculators (/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Casio fx-CG50 Python Error (/thread-13777.html)



Casio fx-CG50 Python Error - toml_12953 - 10-08-2019 02:21 AM

I just got an fx-CG50 and updated it to OS 3.30.0202 which includes Python.
when I try to list the built in functions I get this:

>>> import builtins
>>> dir(builtins)
MemoryError:
>>>

Does anyone else get this or is it a problem with my particular unit?


RE: Casio fx-CG50 Python Error - jebem - 10-08-2019 12:25 PM

(10-08-2019 02:21 AM)toml_12953 Wrote:  I just got an fx-CG50 and updated it to OS 3.30.0202 which includes Python.
when I try to list the built in functions I get this:

>>> import builtins
>>> dir(builtins)
MemoryError:
>>>

Does anyone else get this or is it a problem with my particular unit?

I do not have this machine, but reading the user guide they mention that built-in commands can not be imported because they are, well, built in.

At page 17-9 Casio says:

1. On the script editor screen or SHELL screen press !e
(CATALOG).
This displays the catalog command list screen.
If you want to select a command on this screen for input,
go to step 4 of this procedure. If you want to select a
category, go to step 2 of this procedure.


2. Press 6(CAT).
This displays the category list.
For detailed information about each category, see
“Command Categories” (page 17-10)

And from there option 2 would list the built-in commands.

Does it work as advertised in your machine?


RE: Casio fx-CG50 Python Error - toml_12953 - 10-08-2019 02:53 PM

(10-08-2019 12:25 PM)jebem Wrote:  
(10-08-2019 02:21 AM)toml_12953 Wrote:  I just got an fx-CG50 and updated it to OS 3.30.0202 which includes Python.
when I try to list the built in functions I get this:

>>> import builtins
>>> dir(builtins)
MemoryError:
>>>

Does anyone else get this or is it a problem with my particular unit?

I do not have this machine, but reading the user guide they mention that built-in commands can not be imported because they are, well, built in.

Does it work as advertised in your machine?

Yep, I can select items from the catalog and choose category, etc. If the import builtins command isn't supported then I wonder why I didn't get an error when I executed it. The error didn't happen until I tried to list the built in commands with dir().