HP Forums
HPPPL: How to get String input - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: HPPPL: How to get String input (/thread-11057.html)



HPPPL: How to get String input - Lavaloon - 07-15-2018 09:11 PM

I noticed that the INPUT function only input numbers because if I try to input anything other than numbers, I get an error. I'm curious how to get a String input?


RE: HPPPL: How to get String input - roadrunner - 07-16-2018 02:05 AM

Here's an example:

PHP Code:
EXPORT eraseme()
BEGIN
 local x
;
 
INPUT({{x,[2]}},"title","label","help","reset","initial");
 
x;
END

-road


RE: HPPPL: How to get String input - cyrille de brébisson - 07-16-2018 06:44 AM

Hello,

the [2] here forces the type for the user input to be a string (TYPE("bla") -> 2)...
Since the ONLY allowed type allowed here is 2, then the input will be shown WITHOUT the quotes and save directly as a string in the local variable (A-Z globals can only contain reals)...

Cyrille