Post Reply 
Comments, only comments
07-06-2015, 07:24 PM
Post: #1
Comments, only comments
In these days I search mostly one thing, in the Prime: /* block comments */
I need them to test my program, I can't stand to prefix every lines with //
:-)

Salvo

∫aL√0mic (IT9CLU) :: HP Prime 50g 41CX 71b 42s 39s 35s 12C 15C - DM42, DM41X - WP34s Prime Soft. Lib
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-06-2015, 07:31 PM
Post: #2
RE: Comments, only comments
HI!
This is exactly what I do..
//
//
//
//
This is very long...
Marcel
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-06-2015, 07:35 PM
Post: #3
RE: Comments, only comments
(07-06-2015 07:31 PM)Marcel Wrote:  HI!
This is exactly what I do..
//
//
//
//
This is very long...
Marcel

yes, in fact, very very long...
I would prefer this:
Code:

/*
here
my long lines
don't execute them
they are hidden
*/

so we could confront blocks of program quickly...

Salvo

∫aL√0mic (IT9CLU) :: HP Prime 50g 41CX 71b 42s 39s 35s 12C 15C - DM42, DM41X - WP34s Prime Soft. Lib
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-06-2015, 10:03 PM
Post: #4
RE: Comments, only comments
Code:

IF 0 THEN 
 here
 my long lines
 don't execute them
 they are hidden
END

The lines still have to be syntactically correct though, alas.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-06-2015, 10:19 PM
Post: #5
RE: Comments, only comments
Myself I prefer much comments to be nestable, so I can write
Code:
/* right now I don't want to do this
/* and I never do this */
OK 
*/
But most languages don't allow that and would execute the OK.

Until block comments are implemented you could try using subroutines:

Code:
 export maybeDo
A
B
C
End

// maybeDo
One // takes out A B and C.

Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ)
https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-06-2015, 10:41 PM
Post: #6
RE: Comments, only comments
(07-06-2015 10:03 PM)BruceH Wrote:  
Code:

IF 0 THEN 
 here
 my long lines
 don't execute them
 they are hidden
END

The lines still have to be syntactically correct though, alas.

If I remember correctly the equivalent syntax on the ti-83 only required the syntax to be correct in the If true case...it was not checked in the If false case. How about the Prime?

Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ)
https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)