Post Reply 
forced reboot of the prime
01-16-2019, 02:59 PM
Post: #1
forced reboot of the prime
Hello,
may be this has been discussed already, but I didn't find the thread.
Starting at the Home screen of the function app I hit the Vars key.
On screen appear the known soft buttons: home CAS App User Catalog and Ok
When tapping Catalog a large blue HP logo appears with text: "Your HP Prime had a problem and will reboot in 3 seconds". This happens. The calculator reboots and is ready to work again. The other soft buttons don't force the reboot.
I tried this on my hardware model C (same software) - no rebooting.
I don't like this reboot - what can I do?

My software: 2.1.14181 (2018 10 16) Operating system V2.060.650

Thomas







My machine is hardware type D
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2019, 04:28 PM
Post: #2
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hi Thomas,

My Prime matches yours exactly - but I do not have this reboot error when I do as you describe. Something's amiss...

smp
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2019, 04:34 PM (This post was last modified: 01-16-2019 04:56 PM by informach.)
Post: #3
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hi!, ThomasA :
Can you, indicate the files of CK, Firmware and Virtual Emulator, what you have installed
I have in my calculator … Software: 2.1.14181 (2018 10 16) Operating system V0.050.640
Try, with ...
1) ON+Apps+Esc.
2) With the point of paper clip, in the orifice Reset in the approx. center of rear case.
2a) Press simulaneously keys C+F+O and ON by few seconds.
2b) Appear display EA656 DIAGNOSTIC.
2c) Press 4.FLS Utility and ENTER.
2d) Press 3.Format Disk C and ENTER.
2e) You can see when finish formatted disc C, in the right border OK
2f) Press Esc for Exit.
2g) Press 9.RESET and ENTER.
2h) Appear one padlock in the center with backward blue.
2i) Move the paddlock to the left border.
2j) Appear options of Languages. You must select one y press OK.
2k) Confirm with OK.
2l) Appear now the Initial Configuration. You must select the options.
2m) When finished, you can see the Function Screen.
3) Press ON+Symb.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2019, 09:41 AM
Post: #4
RE: forced reboot of the prime
(01-16-2019 04:34 PM)informach Wrote:  Hi!, ThomasA :
Can you, indicate the files of CK, Firmware and Virtual Emulator, what you have installed
I have in my calculator … Software: 2.1.14181 (2018 10 16) Operating system V0.050.640
Try, with ...
1) ON+Apps+Esc.
2) With the point of paper clip, in the orifice Reset in the approx. center of rear case.
2a) Press simulaneously keys C+F+O and ON by few seconds.
2b) Appear display EA656 DIAGNOSTIC.
2c) Press 4.FLS Utility and ENTER.
2d) Press 3.Format Disk C and ENTER.
2e) You can see when finish formatted disc C, in the right border OK
2f) Press Esc for Exit.
2g) Press 9.RESET and ENTER.
2h) Appear one padlock in the center with backward blue.
2i) Move the paddlock to the left border.
2j) Appear options of Languages. You must select one y press OK.
2k) Confirm with OK.
2l) Appear now the Initial Configuration. You must select the options.
2m) When finished, you can see the Function Screen.
3) Press ON+Symb.

Can this be pinned somewhere?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2019, 04:34 PM
Post: #5
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hello,
Informach: thank you for the detailed list.
I just needed to apply hint no. 1: ON+Apps+Esc.
This command cleared the memory of the calculator: The history of the home screen was wiped out, the program list as well - all user defined vars were purged.
Best of all: the Catalog was repaired, too! So the forced reboot didn't start any more.
After copying back my programs (which I had saved on a Laptop) the HP Prime G2 is alive and running.
I support CyberAngel's suggestion to pin this list somewhere ( with the warning to make a backup before working through the protocol!)

Thank you
Thomas
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2019, 04:34 PM
Post: #6
RE: forced reboot of the prime
A lot of (and more) information available in post “HP-Prime: Documentation & Tutorials”
Also how to reboot the HP Prime.
Thanks Jebem!

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2019, 04:39 PM
Post: #7
RE: forced reboot of the prime
(01-17-2019 09:41 AM)CyberAngel Wrote:  Can this be pinned somewhere?

It's also available in the HP doc 214-hp_prime_recovery_mode.pdf

Cambridge, UK
41CL 12/15C DM15/16 71B 17B/BII/bII+ 28S 42S/DM42 48GX 50g 35s 30b/WP34S Prime G2
& Casios, Rockwell 18R :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2019, 08:14 PM
Post: #8
RE: forced reboot of the prime
(01-16-2019 04:34 PM)informach Wrote:  2a) Press simulaneously keys C+F+O and ON by few seconds.
This works on HP Prime G1, this does not work on HP Prime G2. C+F+O+Reset hole works on Prime G2.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2019, 04:54 PM
Post: #9
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Voldemar, thanks for the info!

— Dirk Hartland
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2019, 05:46 PM (This post was last modified: 01-18-2019 06:20 PM by informach.)
Post: #10
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hi!, Dirk.nl :
Previous and actual version's ... http://www.hp-prime.de/files/composite_f...y_mode.pdf
For the previous versions of HP PRIME, included the G2/B1S (2AP18AA), you can use ...
C+F+O and introduce one point of paper clip, in the Reset orifice aprox. in the middle of rear case, what is very complicated, but is equal what press C+F+O and ON (aprox. 5/7 seconds.). You must keep all keys or buttons pressed until the menu appears.
Check, for your calculator.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2019, 06:03 PM
Post: #11
RE: forced reboot of the prime
(01-18-2019 05:46 PM)informach Wrote:  press C+F+O and ON (aprox. 5/7 seconds.)
Once the ON button is pressed, the calculator turns on. I couldn't realize C+F+O+ON on the Prime G2. Only C+F+O+Reset hole.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2019, 07:26 PM (This post was last modified: 01-18-2019 07:42 PM by informach.)
Post: #12
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hi!, Voldemar :
You first must press keys C+F+O and then keeping the mentioned key's, while press the ON key and keep it pressed (by few seconds) until appears 656 DIAGNOSTIC.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2019, 07:45 PM
Post: #13
RE: forced reboot of the prime
(01-18-2019 07:26 PM)informach Wrote:  Hi!, Voldemar :
You first must press keys C+F+O and then keeping the mentioned key's, while press the ON key and keep it pressed (by few seconds) until appears 656 DIAGNOSTIC.
Do not work on Prime G2. The calculator just turn on after pressing ON key.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2019, 11:20 PM (This post was last modified: 01-18-2019 11:25 PM by informach.)
Post: #14
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hi!, Voldemar :
1) Shut-off the Calculator.
2) Press C+F+O and after press ON.
3) After approx. 6" you must see ...
In your G2(2AP18AA) you must see other values of ..
OS.
Processor.
etc ...
But, the format and questions are same.
Can you attachment the image what you see ?.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2019, 03:30 AM
Post: #15
RE: forced reboot of the prime
(01-18-2019 07:45 PM)Voldemar Wrote:  
(01-18-2019 07:26 PM)informach Wrote:  Hi!, Voldemar :
You first must press keys C+F+O and then keeping the mentioned key's, while press the ON key and keep it pressed (by few seconds) until appears 656 DIAGNOSTIC.
Do not work on Prime G2. The calculator just turn on after pressing ON key.

It works on my G2.

Tom L
I think therefore I am-Descartes
I think therefore you are-Gorgias
You're not here to think-Army Sergeant
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2019, 01:20 PM (This post was last modified: 01-19-2019 02:19 PM by informach.)
Post: #16
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hi!, toml_12953 :
The method of i explained, is Ok, in all versions of HP PRIME.
Thank you soo much, for confirm.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2019, 08:34 PM
Post: #17
RE: forced reboot of the prime
(01-19-2019 03:30 AM)toml_12953 Wrote:  It works on my G2.
Finally I managed to realize C+F+O+ON key on my Prime G2. The solution is simple. The calculator should be in coma mode (hold Shift+Off). I managed this way - turn off the calculator to coma mode, then press C+F+O simultaneously, then press ON key briefly (holding ON key causes turn on the calculator).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2019, 09:56 PM (This post was last modified: 01-19-2019 09:57 PM by informach.)
Post: #18
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hi!, Voldemar :
The procedure should always be performed, with the calculator, turned off.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2019, 09:24 AM
Post: #19
RE: forced reboot of the prime
@informach - "off" and "coma mode" are not the same thing.

Coma mode is a deeper form of power down where *nothing* is powered at all whereas "off" keeps vital parts of the machine supplied (RAM mainly).

Your keyboard reset has to be performed with the G2 in coma mode, not just off.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2019, 02:17 PM (This post was last modified: 01-20-2019 02:46 PM by informach.)
Post: #20
RE: forced reboot of the prime
Hi!, grsbanks :
What you write, lacks logic. Only if you press Shift and Off, is enough.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)