HP Forums

Full Version: Difference between lower and upper case chars in CAS and Home
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello
I'm new to this calculator and I'm trying to understand some of its beaheviur.

When the calc. is in Home the chars are by default in uppercase, in CAS instead they are lower case by default. Why this beaheviur?

Is it correct to say that in CAS lower case chars are interpreted as symbolyc vars, upper case chars are interpreted as values?

What's the difference between lower case and upper case commands?

Thanks everyone for the help.
Parisse once wrote:
Quote:The CAS parser was adapted from the Xcas parser (some rules are not available), and the CAS lexer has less keywords than the Xcas parser: for example synonyms were removed unlike in Xcas, where you can sometimes use several keywords for the same command (one is familiar for TI users, one for maple users, etc.). The general rule in Xcas is that you can type a command all lowercase (no need to switch if you type from keyboard). The general rule in Prime Home is that you can type a command all uppercase. Some commands exist in Home uppercase and CAS lowercase that have almost the same functionnality, but not exactly the same: convert is one example, since convert in CAS can also do symbolic conversions. I think that if HP modifies the UI so that commands in the catalog appear in lowercase when called from CAS mode and both commands exist, a large part of the confusions would disappear.

Generally, Home commands are upper case commands, and CAS commands are lower case. You can use either type of command in either view, but many of the CAS command arguments must be handled within quotation marks, in order to work in Home view.

For example:
Suppose you want to solve a transfer function for a certain value in the s-plane. If the transfer function is given as Gp=1/(s+1), it could be entered
as:

[CAS ]
Gp:=1/(s+1);