HP Forums

Full Version: HP 48GX ROM Dump
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I want to install the Emu48 version 1.64 on my Windows 8.1, 64 bit PC, however this requires a ROM dump.
https://www.opennet.ru/docs/FAQ/OS/HP/part1.html mentions the ROMDump Wizard by Christoph Giesselink.
<http://privat.swol.de/ChristophGiesselink/> does not exist or is not available. I've never done a ROM dump before, and I'm looking for some guidance.
No need to do a ROM dump. The 48 SX/GX Roms can be downloaded from here, https://transnull.com/wp/
(07-20-2022 10:47 PM)Richard Garner Wrote: [ -> ]The 48 SX/GX Roms can be downloaded from here, https://transnull.com/wp/

Thank you, Richard! I went for the HP-48GX revision R ROM. How do I attach it to the Emu48?
(07-20-2022 10:47 PM)Richard Garner Wrote: [ -> ]No need to do a ROM dump. The 48 SX/GX Roms can be downloaded from here, https://transnull.com/wp/

Also from hpcalc.org

To quote from the link above: HP graciously began allowing this to be downloaded in mid-2000.

This also applies to all models from the 48S to the 50g, but unfortunately not to the HP28.
Copy the ROM to the folder that Emu48 is installed in. You will need to rename the ROM to rom.48g. When you run the program it will ask you to select a KML Script. It should have one already chosen as defalt. Click on ok and it should bring up the emukator. The select a KML Script came be turned off later if you wish. Additional Skins with KML Scripts can be fpound at hpcalc.org.
(07-20-2022 11:53 PM)MNH Wrote: [ -> ]How do I attach it to the Emu48?

To add to Richard's post, since it's not straightforward with that emulator:
  • I downloaded Emu48 version 1.64 from here
  • the rom location has been mentioned above
  • I installed Emu48
  • I placed the rom dump file rom.48g into a subdirectory ROM