HP Forums

Full Version: Let's vote for suggestions and bugs
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(08-30-2023 01:32 AM)Joe Horn Wrote: [ -> ]
(08-29-2023 05:02 PM)Amer7 Wrote: [ -> ]Please implement set angle degrees, radian, grad
Grad is missing, it's really important to us surveyors

It's already there. Click either Home Settings or CAS Settings, and tap CHOOSE (or press the + key to rotate through the three options).

So, the claim that no one uses the GRAD setting on the Prme is a gross exaggeration.

GRAD users: 1

Smile
(08-30-2023 12:11 PM)rprosperi Wrote: [ -> ]
(08-30-2023 01:32 AM)Joe Horn Wrote: [ -> ]It's already there. Click either Home Settings or CAS Settings, and tap CHOOSE (or press the + key to rotate through the three options).

So, the claim that no one uses the GRAD setting on the Prme is a gross exaggeration.

GRAD users: 1

Smile

Oh thanks! I did basic setting while ago. And used to switch angle setting on the fly like when you tap on the angle setting for fast switching.
The two things i would love to see are custom units, and support multi letter unknowns in solve formulas.
That would allow us to use more descriptive unknowns in solve app.
As it is right now I am using Plus42 for both of these use cases
(09-01-2023 05:42 AM)nickapos Wrote: [ -> ]The two things i would love to see are custom units, and support multi letter unknowns in solve formulas.
It doesn't allow for more than one letter variables? That was the reason for me to dismiss the 39gs that otherwise would habe been nice to calculate my HVAC stuff back then.
(09-04-2023 10:44 AM)Thomas Radtke Wrote: [ -> ]
(09-01-2023 05:42 AM)nickapos Wrote: [ -> ]The two things i would love to see are custom units, and support multi letter unknowns in solve formulas.
It doesn't allow for more than one letter variables? That was the reason for me to dismiss the 39gs that otherwise would habe been nice to calculate my HVAC stuff back then.

You can do it in programs and CAS but not in the home solve app. So there is a workaround but it is not as nice as having native support in the solve app. I am using Plus42 for equation libraries or my hp50g
(09-04-2023 12:12 PM)nickapos Wrote: [ -> ]
(09-04-2023 10:44 AM)Thomas Radtke Wrote: [ -> ]It doesn't allow for more than one letter variables? That was the reason for me to dismiss the 39gs that otherwise would habe been nice to calculate my HVAC stuff back then.

You can do it in programs and CAS but not in the home solve app. So there is a workaround but it is not as nice as having native support in the solve app. I am using Plus42 for equation libraries or my hp50g

Sure you can, as long as those 'multi-letter' variables are defined in the (Home) Solve App. It even asks/suggests to create those 'multi-letter' variables.
(09-04-2023 11:53 PM)gehakte_bits Wrote: [ -> ]
(09-04-2023 12:12 PM)nickapos Wrote: [ -> ]You can do it in programs and CAS but not in the home solve app. So there is a workaround but it is not as nice as having native support in the solve app. I am using Plus42 for equation libraries or my hp50g

Sure you can, as long as those 'multi-letter' variables are defined in the (Home) Solve App. It even asks/suggests to create those 'multi-letter' variables.

Can you please provide an example? Do you mean you edit the app in order to define the variables?
Unless I don't understand your request ..

In Symbolic Solver you can define E1: SIN(a)=b123/c123
It will then ask for creation of the variables b123, c123 in the Solve app or home.
Or you can pre-define/create the variables in the Solve App or as a Home variable, similar to EXPORT b123,c123 in a program.
(09-05-2023 02:14 AM)gehakte_bits Wrote: [ -> ]Unless I don't understand your request ..

In Symbolic Solver you can define E1: SIN(a)=b123/c123
It will then ask for creation of the variables b123, c123 in the Solve app or home.
Or you can pre-define/create the variables in the Solve App or as a Home variable, similar to EXPORT b123,c123 in a program.
Ok can you please explain to me what I am doing wrong ?
fw 2.1.14730 (2023 04 13)
[attachment=12503]
(09-05-2023 07:43 AM)chromos Wrote: [ -> ]fw 2.1.14730 (2023 04 13)

Ah it seems like this has been fixed in the latest firmware. I can verify it works on my hardware prime, but the app still seems to be lagging behind.
Good stuff, thanks a lot guys
(08-30-2023 12:11 PM)rprosperi Wrote: [ -> ]
(08-30-2023 01:32 AM)Joe Horn Wrote: [ -> ]It's already there. Click either Home Settings or CAS Settings, and tap CHOOSE (or press the + key to rotate through the three options).

So, the claim that no one uses the GRAD setting on the Prme is a gross exaggeration.

GRAD users: 1

Smile


something strange i found out

[attachment=12549]
[attachment=12550]
CAS returning the correct result
Home returning not correct result ( like its still stuck in degree mode) I went home (settings) -> Angle Measure: Gradians
(09-12-2023 07:02 AM)Amer7 Wrote: [ -> ]
(08-30-2023 12:11 PM)rprosperi Wrote: [ -> ]So, the claim that no one uses the GRAD setting on the Prme is a gross exaggeration.

GRAD users: 1

Smile


something strange i found out



CAS returning the correct result
Home returning not correct result ( like its still stuck in degree mode) I went home (settings) -> Angle Measure: Gradians

Does the fact that you overrode the Gradians setting by specifying degrees, minutes, seconds have a bearing?

Unrelated: I noticed that Python always uses radians no matter what the angle setting also.
i actually tested this on my calculator, i get same result.
The screenshots were taken in virtual calc.

you suggest using the units instead of the deg min sec key? hmmm i will give it a go

Well it's the same.
when I write the angle using units ( then angle option) again i type 200*19*34* etc. again different results in home and CAS.
Keep note that I don't write the angle in decimal format.
I just press on my multiplication on home screen, so it again ends up in the input, then i Press cas, then enter. When I press enter i automatically transforms the angle in decimal format.

So yea, now when I did the same, but reversed. angle written in decimal format but in home- i get the same result like in CAS.

But when I use my CASIO calculator, I set it in GRAD mode. and I write the angle using DMS key- so it ends up in dms format, i get the correct answer
From a separate thread:

(09-15-2023 01:58 PM)snowflake Wrote: [ -> ]Convert lbf to N uses 4.449221615 N / lbf instead of 4.448221615.
The third digit following the decimal should be 8 instead of 9.
Can this be corrected?
(09-16-2023 06:03 PM)calc_freak Wrote: [ -> ]From a separate thread:

(09-15-2023 01:58 PM)snowflake Wrote: [ -> ]Convert lbf to N uses 4.449221615 N / lbf instead of 4.448221615.
The third digit following the decimal should be 8 instead of 9.
Can this be corrected?

Thanks for collecting this here. But since there was a specific thread for this, I put a longer reply there. (Current summary, at time of writing this: there is a ticket in the bug tracker I've set up for the project, there is a workaround, and the issue in the code has been identified. [Although this last part may be, arguably, a bit of mini-bonus for those reading here as that isn’t 100% spelled out in the other thread.])
(09-17-2023 11:25 PM)jte Wrote: [ -> ]
(09-16-2023 06:03 PM)calc_freak Wrote: [ -> ]From a separate thread:

Thanks for collecting this here. But since there was a specific thread for this, I put a longer reply there. (Current summary, at time of writing this: there is a ticket in the bug tracker I've set up for the project, there is a workaround, and the issue in the code has been identified. [Although this last part may be, arguably, a bit of mini-bonus for those reading here as that isn’t 100% spelled out in the other thread.])

hello, are you aware of the bug in this page as well?
https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-20912.html
(01-03-2024 06:06 PM)e0ne199 Wrote: [ -> ]hello, are you aware of the bug in this page as well?
https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-20912.html

Yes, there is a ticket for that in Jeff's bug tracker.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Reference URL's