HP Forums

Full Version: HP 67 Battery charger not working - any alternatives
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I have a non working 67 charger, not sure when it stopped working but now I cant charge the batteries! I do have the external battery holder to use and to avoid any risk to the calculator.

Apart from getting a new charger, what options are there to make up a charger that could be used with the external holder to charge the batteries? Has anyone done this, or maybe used a USB cable with a custom cable to connect to the batteries directly?

Short of that what are the options for determining what's wrong with the charger. I am not experienced at electrical repairs, but I can check voltages etc. I also noticed on the US spec charger I have that there is a slider type switch which seems to indicate it can operate at either US spec (110v) or European voltage.

Any advice would be welcomed!

dbhp67
Hello!

Throw away the defective charger and never connect another charger to that wonderful calculator ever again. See this recent thread about the subject: https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-16502.html

Regards
Max
USB charger cable.

By Mark Hoskins.
I would recommend buying one of the AAA holders from Mark Hoskins via ebay, and getting a couple sets of NiMH AAAs (Eneloop, EBL, etc.) and a decent outboard charger. Don't attempt to charge NiMHs inside the calculator, as they can overheat quite dramatically if overcharged.
Thanks - I have an external battery holder for the 67 and would only use it in that. I don't have one for the 97. Does one of those exist? If not I might have to find one from somewhere.

I have contacted the vendor by email to order one of those cables for the 67 and the 97!

Again, thanks for the pointers!