HP Forums

Full Version: Recommendations for Field Engineer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
My TI 36X pro recently died so I started researching a new calculator when I came across the HP style RPN, that’s where I am now at the Swissmicro line of calculator. I am a field engineer for a heavy civil company so am looking for a general day to day calculator for finding dimensions, volume etc. I have never used a calculator for DMS but do either the DM41X or DM42 have a DMS feature? For my use what would y’all recommend between the two? Thanks[/code][/php]

Just quick clarification when I say DMS I am referring to degrees minutes seconds, my fault for not including this from the start.
I would say that a person for no prior experience of HP rpn machines, go with DM42. The is no algebraic entry at all (41 or 42) everything is done with postfix operations:
1 1 + is the same as 1 + 1

That said there might be full professional module for HP41 and DM41 for your field of engineering.

You can try out Free42 from Thomas Okken in your phone to evaluate if you like it or not. Dm42 from Swiss Micros is actually a physical device running Free42.

What do acronym DMS stand for?

DM41 and HP41xx are more "hackable" and it is more like a microcontroller in a box (a hobby project with endles modules etc. what I have understood, a fine machine especially for those who have prior experience of HP41xx).
(04-04-2021 09:20 PM)rjl2015 Wrote: [ -> ]I have never used a calculator for DMS but do either the DM41X or DM42 have a DMS feature? For my use what would y’all recommend between the two?