HP Forums

Full Version: HP 21 not powering on - repair/troubleshooting advice
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

I received a collection of HP calculators recently including 3 x HP 21, none of which power up at all.

I received some HP 25 in the same lot which all work.

I have used a known working converted battery pack and also tried the warm up suggestion which I found in these forums but still nothing. I'm looking for suggestions of how to test/troubleshoot from here with the thought that maybe I can combine working components from each into a complete working unit.

Was the 21 much different to other woodstock models making it generally less reliable / more likely to breakdown as I find it hard to believe that they are all the same (ie completely dead)?

BTW, I'm a software engineer and not a hardware engineer but am thinking it's worth a shot as I have 3 of them and can learn as I go. I'm planning to get a multimeter so I can do some testing at various points as advised here.

TIA, dmh
Not sure how much you've researched this, but most importantly do NOT try to power up either a 21 or 25 (or any "Woodstock" series) with just the AC adapter (i.e. without a working battery installed). Best practice is to charge the batteries outside the calculator and never connect the AC adapter. (Sounds like you're already familiar with that.)

If you have a good, charged pack the first thing to check is for corrosion on the battery contacts in the calculator. A little light cleaning with an emery board or fine sandpaper should clean them up.