HP Forums

Full Version: A short introduction and a question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all,

I just want to introduce my self shortly and then ask a question.

I live in Germany and have happily found this forum. Nice to see people which still love pocket calculators even in the time of smart phones and tablets. I am a software engineer coming from S/36 and AS400 IBM midrange machines, but in the past 15 years I have been an architect and developer on linux and in the world of C and C++.

In the mid-70ties I often looked jealously to those which could afford HP and TI equipment which I couldn't due to their prices. So I ended up with casio. Today, I still own and operate a casio fx-8000, which basically fulfills my need. It is now 36 years or so old, and apart from some scratches the display and the keys are still like being new.

However, it always was and is tedious to write programs on this device, and I'd like to have something "more fancy", a new toy.

So I will get an HP Prime in this week, and I am as excited about this as I was about my FX-8000. :-)

Though I once (past century) started to study mechanical engineering (I didn't complete), I am very sure that I will likely not use more than a few percent of what one can do with the Prime. But I don't care: I don't have to to understand it all, but I may learn a new step every once and then - if I want. This is the privilege of age, I guess.

My hobbies are software, software, software - and electronics, photography, RC-plane building and -flying, and I fly real airplanes. And I like technics in general.