HP Forums

Full Version: Undocumented feature(s) of rev 6030
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
The release notes for the new update, version 2014 3 31 (rev 6030), don't mention all its new features.

For example, now you can select any item in any single-column catalog (e.g. Toolbox, or Program Catalog, or Memory Manager, etc) without executing it (so that, for example, you can press the Help key for it), simply by pressing it and holding your finger there for one second. Then the selection highlight will jump to your finger, and when you lift your finger, the item will stay selected. Very nice... you no longer have to press up-arrow and down-arrow a zillion times.

Sorry... It doesn't work correctly for multi-column catalogs (e.g. Shift-6). Stay tuned for the next update. Big Grin

If you find another hidden feature in rev 6030, please tack it onto this thread.
The PRAGMA feature is not documented in Tim update notice.

The PRAGMA feature in first line of a program will ensure that the program will compile no matter your local settings like decimal separator and integer setting.
the line syntax is
Code:
#pragma mode( separator(.,;) integer(h64) )

To insert the PRAGMA, while in program editor, press "Menu" key and "5 insert pragma"
(05-27-2014 08:47 PM)patrice Wrote: [ -> ]
Code:
#pragma mode( separator(.,;) integer(h64) )

yes but if you have already choose 1 569,4588 as decimal separator in home setting you have
Code:
#pragma mode( separator(,;;) integer(h64) )
note ",;;" in place of ".,;" and then you have an error... you need to change manually
Yes if your calc use a comma as decimal separator and that you type a program not respecting this setting, you have to manually tell the pragma which setting is used in your program.
(05-27-2014 09:34 PM)patrice Wrote: [ -> ]Yes if your calc use a comma as decimal separator and that you type a program not respecting this setting, you have to manually tell the pragma which setting is used in your program.

I'am not sure to understand... If I place the code exactly (with the three separator) like these :
Code:
 #pragma mode( separator(.,;) integer(h64) )

the compilation is ok in every situation ( comma or point as decimal separator) I have nothing to change...
(05-27-2014 09:47 PM)dg1969 Wrote: [ -> ]
(05-27-2014 09:34 PM)patrice Wrote: [ -> ]Yes if your calc use a comma as decimal separator and that you type a program not respecting this setting, you have to manually tell the pragma which setting is used in your program.

I'am not sure to understand... If I place the code exactly (with the three separator) like these :
Code:
 #pragma mode( separator(.,;) integer(h64) )

the compilation is ok in every situation ( comma or point as decimal separator) I have nothing to change...
The pragma says to the parser that no matter YOUR Home Settings, the program follow the syntax:
decimal separator is a point in the program.
parameter separator is a comma in the program.
command separator is a semi in the program.
and integers are 64 bits hexadecimal
(05-27-2014 10:09 PM)patrice Wrote: [ -> ]The pragma says to the parser that no matter YOUR Home Settings, the program follow the syntax:
decimal separator is a point in the program.
parameter separator is a comma in the program.
command separator is a semi in the program.
and integers are 64 bits hexadecimal
Many thanks ! its clear now.
Engineering format inconsistency is solved now.

Regards
Bernd
New feature not in TW notice:
STRING and TEXTOUT now have parameters to chose the formatting you want to convert a number to string or display it.

Every program should be updated to take advantage of the feature.
(05-27-2014 08:04 PM)Joe Horn Wrote: [ -> ]The release notes for the new update, version 2014 3 31 (rev 6030), don't mention all its new features.

For example, now you can select any item in any single-column catalog (e.g. Toolbox, or Program Catalog, or Memory Manager, etc) without executing it (so that, for example, you can press the Help key for it), simply by pressing it and holding your finger there for one second. Then the selection highlight will jump to your finger, and when you lift your finger, the item will stay selected. Very nice... you no longer have to press up-arrow and down-arrow a zillion times.

Sorry... It doesn't work correctly for multi-column catalogs (e.g. Shift-6). Stay tuned for the next update. Big Grin

If you find another hidden feature in rev 6030, please tack it onto this thread.

Can we "sticky" this thread? I think that what it is called when a head stays on top of forum list. Thanks!
Reference URL's