HP Forums

Full Version: TI59 VS the 41 Vs the 71 VS the 48 Shootout
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
The TI59 has some serious advantages esp the locking expansion dock superb plug ins, etc. But in a multi-way shootout I would give it to the 71. Then to the 48GX in a head-to-head shootout.

In HS I had the TI59, but stepped up to the 41CV in college and never went back.

I was a TI59 hardcore user back in those days. Bought it from the famous store- The Math Box in Fair City Mall, Fairfax, VA.

Any other TI59 users?
(05-03-2014 01:10 PM)John W Kercheval Wrote: [ -> ]Any other TI59 users?

Yes me. Back then. But even today, I would not trade my Ti59 for an Hp41 or 48.
I could not afford a TI-59 when I graduated from High School, but got a TI-58C instead which got me through Engineering in College. I became a HP convert my Junior year in college, but since I had no money I stayed with my trusty 58C (even though the keyboard was wearing out!)
(05-03-2014 01:10 PM)John W Kercheval Wrote: [ -> ]The TI59 has some serious advantages esp the locking expansion dock superb plug ins, etc. But in a multi-way shootout I would give it to the 71. Then to the 48GX in a head-to-head shootout.

In HS I had the TI59, but stepped up to the 41CV in college and never went back.

I was a TI59 hardcore user back in those days. Bought it from the famous store- The Math Box in Fair City Mall, Fairfax, VA.

Any other TI59 users?

TI59??
41C*! 4evaNaDay.
That takes me back in time to the end of 70's when everybody around me used Texas TI-57/58/59 calculators at school (Technical Universities in Lisbon) and I was the only one defending the HP flag with my HP-67.

Our arguing in favor of Texas or HP had no end, and at that time the general feeling was that Texas was superior when compared to HP in most areas. And of course they dismissed RPN as a practical entry mode, even making jokes about it.