Post Reply 
Time Module question
10-05-2017, 02:02 PM
Post: #1
Time Module question
Hi,
Does anyone know why the clock on my CX gets always behind by a few seconds when my 41C with a time module is always dead on? It’s weird....
Has anyone noticed that, or is it just me??

Engineer & Senior IT Executive
Tall-Key HP41CL, HP41CX, HP82162A Printer, HP82143A Printer, 82160A HP-IL and some other modules, HP50g.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2017, 02:09 PM
Post: #2
RE: Time Module question
Have you tried adjusting the accuracy with the CORRECT function?

Check out NQ41!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2017, 02:17 PM
Post: #3
RE: Time Module question
(10-05-2017 02:09 PM)Craig Bladow Wrote:  Have you tried adjusting the accuracy with the CORRECT function?

Nope, I didn’t even know about that function...

Engineer & Senior IT Executive
Tall-Key HP41CL, HP41CX, HP82162A Printer, HP82143A Printer, 82160A HP-IL and some other modules, HP50g.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2017, 03:28 PM (This post was last modified: 10-05-2017 03:29 PM by BobVA.)
Post: #4
RE: Time Module question
That's one of my favorite features in the Time Module.

Once you get it sorted you can write the resulting correction ("accuracy factor") down somewhere so it's easy to restore after a power loss, etc. rather than having to go through the CORRECT process again. See the "RCLAF" and "SETAF" function descriptions for the details.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2017, 03:32 PM
Post: #5
RE: Time Module question
(10-05-2017 03:28 PM)BobVA Wrote:  That's one of my favorite features in the Time Module.

Once you get it sorted you can write the resulting correction ("accuracy factor") down somewhere so it's easy to restore after a power loss, etc. rather than having to go through the CORRECT process again. See the "RCLAF" and "SETAF" function descriptions for the details.

Yes, I’m reading it and trying to figure out how to use it properly.

Thanks

Engineer & Senior IT Executive
Tall-Key HP41CL, HP41CX, HP82162A Printer, HP82143A Printer, 82160A HP-IL and some other modules, HP50g.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2017, 08:07 PM
Post: #6
RE: Time Module question
Very easy, set the time with SETIME. Then wait a long time (weeks), set the time again with the CORRECT command. After this the Time module compensates for the time drift.

You can recall the adjustment factor with RCLAF, write it down and restore it with SETAF after a power loss. To avoid going through the SETIME-CORRECT procedure again.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2017, 08:13 PM (This post was last modified: 10-05-2017 09:25 PM by Neve.)
Post: #7
RE: Time Module question
(10-05-2017 08:07 PM)hth Wrote:  Very easy, set the time with SETIME. Then wait a long time (weeks), set the time again with the CORRECT command. After this the Time module compensates for the time drift.

You can recall the adjustment factor with RCLAF, write it down and restore it with SETAF after a power loss. To avoid going through the SETIME-CORRECT procedure again.

I get it. But it gets off very quickly (almost a second 2 hours or so) that if I wait weeks, it’ll be off by a day! LOL

Engineer & Senior IT Executive
Tall-Key HP41CL, HP41CX, HP82162A Printer, HP82143A Printer, 82160A HP-IL and some other modules, HP50g.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2017, 09:10 PM
Post: #8
RE: Time Module question
(10-05-2017 08:13 PM)Neve Wrote:  
(10-05-2017 08:07 PM)hth Wrote:  Very easy, set the time with SETIME. Then wait a long time (weeks), set the time again with the CORRECT command. After this the Time module compensates for the time drift.

You can recall the adjustment factor with RCLAF, write it down and restore it with SETAF after a power loss. To avoid going through the SETIME-CORRECT procedure again.

I get it. But it get so off very quickly (almost a second 2 hours or so) that if I wait weeks, it’ll be off by a day! LOL

Hm, what's your battery voltage status? That occasionally has something to do with drift, though with those devices it shouldn't do.

(Post 112)

Regards, BrickViking
HP-50g |Casio fx-9750G+ |Casio fx-9750GII (SH4a)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2017, 09:32 PM (This post was last modified: 10-05-2017 09:33 PM by Neve.)
Post: #9
RE: Time Module question
(10-05-2017 09:10 PM)brickviking Wrote:  Hm, what's your battery voltage status? That occasionally has something to do with drift, though with those devices it shouldn't do.

(Post 112)

On both, batteries are fully charged.
I don’t know... I had never paid attention to it until I bought a time module for the 41C and noticed the differences when compared to the clock on my computer with which they are both “synchronized”.
But let’s say, after a day or 2, one would read 01:00:00pm while the other would read 01:00:02pm. Or maybe I didn’t set it right the first time...

Engineer & Senior IT Executive
Tall-Key HP41CL, HP41CX, HP82162A Printer, HP82143A Printer, 82160A HP-IL and some other modules, HP50g.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)