Post Reply 
How to include tables in a post ?
06-02-2016, 07:35 PM
Post: #1
How to include tables in a post ?
.
Hi, everyone:

I've been doing a number of attempts here in order to get a formatted table of numbers included in a post, where formatted simply means that the numbers appear neatly aligned in columns, like this:

[Image: image017.gif]

So far I've only succeded if I include the numbers in a CODE section, as the spacing between numbers is kept, but I don't want to use CODE as I don't like it.

I've also attempted to use PSP and LaTeX but surely I'm doing something wrong because I get no decently aligned columns.

Trying to use some TAB tags or similar doesn't work either, so if some kind soul would post here a table example which I could examine to use as a reference I'd be obligued.

Come to that, I'd also welcome tips & tricks on how to upload or include PDF documents and/or images in a post, or if there's some section in the HP Museum for that kind of contents.

Regards.
V.
.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2016, 09:57 PM
Post: #2
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
Hello Valentin,

There was a thread about this some time ago. I wonder why it is not in this subforum. Anyway, here it is:

http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/post-1935.html

Best regards,

Gerson.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2016, 10:22 PM
Post: #3
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
.
Hi, Gerson:

(06-02-2016 09:57 PM)Gerson W. Barbosa Wrote:  There was a thread about this some time ago. I wonder why it is not in this subforum.

Let's see ...
\begin{array}{|c|c|}
\hline n (base) & 2*n+9 (29) & 6*n+9 (69) & sqr(2*n+9) & sqr(6*n+9) \\\hline
0 (*) & 9 & 9 & 3 & 3 \\\hline
36 & 81 & 225 & 9 & 15 \\\hline
540 & 1089 & 3249 & 33 & 57 \\\hline
7560 & 15129 & 45369 & 123 & 213 \\\hline
105336 & 210681 & 632025 & 459 & 795 \\\hline
1467180 & 2934369 & 8803089 & 1713 & 2967 \\\hline
20435220 & 40870449 & 122611329 & 6393 & 11073 \\\hline
284625936 & 569251881 & 1707755625 & 23859 & 41325 \\\hline
\end{array}
Great, it works !

Thanks so much, Gerson ! 8-D

Best regards.
V.
.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 12:45 AM
Post: #4
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
(06-02-2016 07:35 PM)Valentin Albillo Wrote:  Trying to use some TAB tags or similar doesn't work either, so if some kind soul would post here a table example which I could examine to use as a reference I'd be obligued.

While far from as elegant as Gerson's tip and your pretty darned good first go at Latex, you could just space out the characters and format your table in a fixed-pitch font like Courier. The default font is fairly readable, but the variable-pitch nature of this (and most currently popular fonts) makes aligned output basically impossible.

As noted, it's not nearly as pretty, but it is far simpler and quicker.

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 02:17 AM
Post: #5
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
(06-03-2016 12:45 AM)rprosperi Wrote:  While far from as elegant as Gerson's tip and your pretty darned good first go at Latex,

That was actually Katie's tip. I've only provided the link. I have yet to use it myself.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 02:42 AM
Post: #6
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
(06-03-2016 12:45 AM)rprosperi Wrote:  While far from as elegant as Gerson's tip and your pretty darned good first go at Latex, you could just space out the characters and format your table in a fixed-pitch font like Courier. The default font is fairly readable, but the variable-pitch nature of this (and most currently popular fonts) makes aligned output basically impossible.

As noted, it's not nearly as pretty, but it is far simpler and quicker.

Unfortunately, using a fixed-pitch font (e.g. Courier) is not enough, because most (if not all) browsers remove extra spaces, as you can see here:

+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+
| n(base) | 2n+9(29) | 6n+9(69) | sqr(2n+9) | sqr(6n+9) |
+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+
| 0(*) | 9 | 9 | 3 | 3 |
| 36 | 81 | 225 | 9 | 15 |
| 540 | 1089 | 3249 | 33 | 57 |
| 7560 | 15129 | 45369 | 123 | 213 |
| 105336 | 210681 | 632025 | 459 | 795 |
| 1467180 | 2934369 | 8803089 | 1713 | 2967 |
| 20435220 | 40870449 | 122611329 | 6393 | 11073 |
| 284625936 | 569251881 | 1707755625 | 23859 | 41325 |
+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+


Here's exactly the same data but inside a "Code" box, which forces browsers to show all spaces:

Code:
+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+
|  n(base)  |  2n+9(29) |  6n+9(69)  | sqr(2n+9) | sqr(6n+9) |
+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+
|      0(*) |         9 |          9 |         3 |         3 |
|        36 |        81 |        225 |         9 |        15 |
|       540 |      1089 |       3249 |        33 |        57 |
|      7560 |     15129 |      45369 |       123 |       213 |
|    105336 |    210681 |     632025 |       459 |       795 |
|   1467180 |   2934369 |    8803089 |      1713 |      2967 |
|  20435220 |  40870449 |  122611329 |      6393 |     11073 |
| 284625936 | 569251881 | 1707755625 |     23859 |     41325 |
+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+

So, theoretically, the following is impossible to do. Discerning how it was done is left as an exercise for the student. Big Grin

+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+
|  n(base)  |  2n+9(29) |  6n+9(69)  | sqr(2n+9) | sqr(6n+9) |
+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+
|      0(*) |         9 |          9 |         3 |         3 |
|        36 |        81 |        225 |         9 |        15 |
|       540 |      1089 |       3249 |        33 |        57 |
|      7560 |     15129 |      45369 |       123 |       213 |
|    105336 |    210681 |     632025 |       459 |       795 |
|   1467180 |   2934369 |    8803089 |      1713 |      2967 |
|  20435220 |  40870449 |  122611329 |      6393 |     11073 |
| 284625936 | 569251881 | 1707755625 |     23859 |     41325 |
+-----------+-----------+------------+-----------+-----------+

X<> c
-Joe-
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 03:14 AM
Post: #7
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
Looking at the page source code I see that the MathJax module is being used for LaTeX support

And the supported commands are listed HERE

/*
* /MathJax/config/TeX-AMS-MML_HTMLorMML.js
*
* Copyright (c) 2010-2015 The MathJax Consortium
*
* Part of the MathJax library.
* See http://www.mathjax.org for details.
*
* Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0;
* you may not use this file except in compliance with the License.
*
* http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0
*/

MathJax.Hub.Config({
delayJaxRegistration: true
});

MathJax.Ajax.Preloading(
"[MathJax]/jax/input/TeX/config.js",
"[MathJax]/jax/input/MathML/config.js",
"[MathJax]/jax/output/HTML-CSS/config.js",
"[MathJax]/jax/output/NativeMML/config.js",
"[MathJax]/jax/output/PreviewHTML/config.js",
"[MathJax]/config/MMLorHTML.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/tex2jax.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/mml2jax.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/MathEvents.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/MathZoom.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/MathMenu.js",
"[MathJax]/jax/element/mml/jax.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/toMathML.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/TeX/noErrors.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/TeX/noUndefined.js",
"[MathJax]/jax/input/TeX/jax.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/TeX/AMSmath.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/TeX/AMSsymbols.js",
"[MathJax]/jax/input/MathML/jax.js",
"[MathJax]/jax/output/PreviewHTML/jax.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/fast-preview.js",
"[MathJax]/extensions/AssistiveMML.js"
);

MathJax.Hub.Config({
"v1.0-compatible": false
});
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 01:12 PM
Post: #8
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
(06-03-2016 02:42 AM)Joe Horn Wrote:  So, theoretically, the following is impossible to do. Discerning how it was done is left as an exercise for the student. Big Grin

I did not know browsers removed spaces, how arrogant!

So, maybe use a non-printing (i.e. invisible), non-space character?

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 06:11 PM
Post: #9
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
(06-03-2016 01:12 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  
(06-03-2016 02:42 AM)Joe Horn Wrote:  So, theoretically, the following is impossible to do. Discerning how it was done is left as an exercise for the student. Big Grin

I did not know browsers removed spaces, how arrogant!

So, maybe use a non-printing (i.e. invisible), non-space character?

It's a printing space character. ;-) But a special one: the non-breaking space (Alt+0160). You may know it from other software, e.g. in Word it's Ctrl+Shift+Space. That's a very useful character as it will prevent a line break, so you can keep values and units together ("1 m" or "6 km/h") without the risk of line breaks. For our purposes here it's a kind of "hard blank" which - unlinke a regular space - is not removed by your browser:

          So   you   can   do   things   like          ...this.

I use non-breaking spaces quite a lot.
BTW, is there a faster way than the Alt+0160 method ?

Dieter
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 06:14 PM
Post: #10
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
(06-03-2016 01:12 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  So, maybe use a non-printing (i.e. invisible), non-space character?

Yes, the invisible character under the first Specials, in Katie's Unicode Test does the trick:

       π = 3.141592653589793238462643383279503
       9 2 3.141574838064079287182344939989334
      99 2 3.141592651424974945646180479799372
     999 2 3.141592653589572786959492672266442
    9999 2 3.141592653589793216377737847078192
   99999 2 3.141592653589793238460434495123538
  999999 2 3.141592653589793238462643162386710
 9999999 2 3.141592653589793238462643383257414
99999999 2 3.141592653589793238462643383279500
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 08:36 PM
Post: #11
RE: How to include tables in a post ?
(06-03-2016 06:11 PM)Dieter Wrote:  It's a printing space character. ;-) But a special one: the non-breaking space (Alt+0160). You may know it from other software, e.g. in Word it's Ctrl+Shift+Space. That's a very useful character as it will prevent a line break, so you can keep values and units together ("1 m" or "6 km/h") without the risk of line breaks. For our purposes here it's a kind of "hard blank" which - unlinke a regular space - is not removed by your browser:

          So   you   can   do   things   like          ...this.
This is what I meant, but I did not know there is a special non-breaking space character. Very useful for things like this, thank you sir!.

(06-03-2016 06:14 PM)Gerson W. Barbosa Wrote:  Yes, the invisible character under the first Specials, in Katie's Unicode Test does the trick:

That character listing seems to cause havoc under IE11. Here is how the bottom of the list appears:


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

--Bob Prosperi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2016, 09:06 PM (This post was last modified: 06-22-2016 12:03 PM by striegel.)
Post: #12
Using non-standard blank space character
(06-03-2016 06:11 PM)Dieter Wrote:  
(06-03-2016 01:12 PM)rprosperi Wrote:  I did not know browsers removed spaces, how arrogant!

So, maybe use a non-printing (i.e. invisible), non-space character?

It's a printing space character. ;-) But a special one: the non-breaking space (Alt+0160). You may know it from other software, e.g. in Word it's Ctrl+Shift+Space. That's a very useful character as it will prevent a line break, so you can keep values and units together ("1 m" or "6 km/h") without the risk of line breaks. For our purposes here it's a kind of "hard blank" which - unlike a regular space - is not removed by your browser:

          So   you   can   do   things   like          ...this.

I use non-breaking spaces quite a lot.
BTW, is there a faster way than the Alt+0160 method ?

Dieter
For years, this character was a great help in filling out the 'Name' and 'Company' dialog boxes when installing Microsoft Office.

If I needed to set up MS Office for a business's PC where the name of an individual was not wanted, it would not accept an empty box or the ordinary space character, but Alt+0160 worked fine.

Think of the situation where the employee moves on and the company hires a replacement - forever after it would say 'This product is licensed to" and show the name of the person who no longer works here.

For a home user who wanted their own name but no company name it worked just as well.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)