RAM issue
05-05-2015, 08:36 AM (This post was last modified: 05-05-2015 08:39 AM by jfernan751.)
RAM issue
Hello everyone.

What I am about to explain is quite simple. As a student, I require a lot of memory to store programs on my Prime. The problem is that if I decide to load more than, let's say 5MB of programs in it, it says insufficient memory. Due to that, I have done some research and I've discovered that it is because it kind of "preloads" everything in the RAM memory instead of ROM.

Because of that, you can only have like 9MB or so available for your own stuff. However, i found a "solution" which is doing a reset after sending in my programs in order to clear RAM.

Obviously that is not a proper solution as you have to do the same if you want to load more than 9MB of your stuff without reseting.

In addition to that, if you finally manage to have all your programs stored, when you connect your calculator to connectivity kit, it crashes and you have to reboot again...

Wouldn't be easier if HP just developed some code to free that used memory as soon as you are finished running your program? Just like computers do...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2015, 08:56 AM
RE: RAM issue
Sounds like a big problem.....except, over at

http://www.hpcalc.org/prime/math/

the largest programme is 14 KB & most are 1 KB, so you could manage to load all of those.

Perhaps you could try to optimise some of the programmes you have to reduce their size?
05-05-2015, 09:01 AM
There's no problem when it comes to those. There is when you have mviewergx-converted pdf files, which are around 850KB
05-05-2015, 01:02 PM
Curious as to why one would use a calculator to store PDF files. My preference is to use my phone to store PDF files. I also have the Prime emulator on my Android phone so I have access to both on the same device.
05-05-2015, 05:13 PM