Post Reply 
20b or 30b for WP34s
11-16-2014, 06:33 PM
Post: #1
20b or 30b for WP34s
Hello,

I was wondering whether to choose a 20b or 30b for converting the calculator to a WP34s.

What would the reasons the be to pick one over the other?

Thanks in advance.

Elite
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-16-2014, 07:22 PM
Post: #2
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
(11-16-2014 06:33 PM)Elite Wrote:  Hello,

I was wondering whether to choose a 20b or 30b for converting the calculator to a WP34s.

What would the reasons the be to pick one over the other?

Thanks in advance.

Elite

The 30b has a better keyboard - it has a firm "click" feel to it. The 20b keyboard has no click and feels a little soggy. On the other hand, on some 30b machines some keys can "click" without registering a press, sometimes. You may feel happier with a non-click keyboard that forces you to push firmly.

The 20b is black, which makes for a neater appearance when the black overlay is applied.

I believe that neither machine is being manufactured any longer. I have found it easier to get hold of the 30b here in the UK than the 20b.

Apart from the keyboard and the case colour I believe that the hardware in both machines is identical.

I prefer the look and feel of the 30b myself. I think most will agree with me.

Good luck with the WP34s. You'll love it!

Nigel (UK)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-16-2014, 07:31 PM (This post was last modified: 11-16-2014 07:37 PM by Elite.)
Post: #3
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
Thanks,

It's just that where I live, Germany, the 20b is three euros cheaper than the 30b.

In the manual it also says that, however on pictures the keybords look the same.

I think Ill just go with the 30b.

Elite
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-17-2014, 06:43 PM
Post: #4
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
There must be a hidden feature in both machines that allows HP's original firmware to detect the hardware it is running on. The enhanced features of the 30b aren't available on the 20b even if you load the 30b flash image on it.

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-18-2014, 04:22 AM (This post was last modified: 11-18-2014 04:25 AM by PANAMATIK.)
Post: #5
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
How did you load a 30b Flash Image into a 20b or vice versa? Can you revert a WP34S into a 30b again?

That's one small step for a man - one giant leap for mankind.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-18-2014, 03:25 PM
Post: #6
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
(11-18-2014 04:22 AM)PANAMATIK Wrote:  How did you load a 30b Flash Image into a 20b or vice versa? Can you revert a WP34S into a 30b again?

You just need the correct flash image.

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-18-2014, 10:14 PM
Post: #7
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
AFAIK you cannot read the original flash image from the 30b calculator, because it is protected. Perhaps somebody has found a way of reading it though. This would be interesting. Anyway, I do not intent to re-repurpose my WP34S.

Bernhard
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-19-2014, 05:43 PM
Post: #8
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
(11-18-2014 10:14 PM)PANAMATIK Wrote:  AFAIK you cannot read the original flash image from the 30b calculator, because it is protected.
In order to get access to the flash contents you'll need to reactivate the SAM-BA boot loader of the chip. The original firmware does not support this. I don't know whether the access path through the JTAG connector is blocked. IIRC, one of the configuration bits of the Atmel chip can be used to lock out JTAG access to the flash.

Luckily, we have friends to help us out... Smile

Marcus von Cube
Wehrheim, Germany
http://www.mvcsys.de
http://wp34s.sf.net
http://mvcsys.de/doc/basic-compare.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-21-2014, 07:19 PM (This post was last modified: 11-21-2014 07:20 PM by Han.)
Post: #9
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
(11-17-2014 06:43 PM)Marcus von Cube Wrote:  There must be a hidden feature in both machines that allows HP's original firmware to detect the hardware it is running on. The enhanced features of the 30b aren't available on the 20b even if you load the 30b flash image on it.

On the HP50G, HP49G+, HP49G, and HP48GII, there is an opcode that behaves differently on each machine with allows assembly software to detect the type of machine. Perhaps something similar exists for these calculators?

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-22-2014, 08:40 AM
Post: #10
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
For my understanding, there is the same Atmel processor in the 20b and in the 30b,so same opcodes there (?) ... Just my 2cents

Best regards
Ralf

--
real: HP48SX, WP34S, WP31S, HP41CV
on phone: go41cx, free42, droid48
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-22-2014, 08:43 AM
Post: #11
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
(11-22-2014 08:40 AM)workspace Wrote:  For my understanding, there is the same Atmel processor in the 20b and in the 30b,so same opcodes there (?) ... Just my 2cents

This is correct, the difference lies elsewhere.

There is some ROM in the CPU which might be different, there might be something different on the PCB.


- Pauli
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-25-2014, 12:26 AM
Post: #12
RE: 20b or 30b for WP34s
(11-22-2014 08:43 AM)Paul Dale Wrote:  There is some ROM in the CPU which might be different, there might be something different on the PCB.

Two crossed pins under the epoxy blob.

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)