I'm in love
01-28-2024, 05:03 AM
I'm in love
When I left school in 1999 and entered the workforce it became a pain to carry my trusty HP-48GX around with me to meetings -- oddly enough people don't lug around book bags with them in the corporate world like we did in school. Wink

So I needed a pocketable scientific calculator, and the HP-42S became my constant companion. I love that calculator, but sometimes it frustrates me because so much of it's functionality is hidden in menus.

I tried just about every calculator on the market, and they all were underwhelming -- especially for complex numbers which are very important to me. Eventually, in 2013, I came across the Casio fx-5800P. It didn't do everything the 42 did, but it has passable complex number support and was quicker for simple calculations. Not RPN but I adapted. I have been using it for the last 10 years.

Recently I picked up an HP-15CE. I'm completely blown away by this little gem! It's fantastic! No menus. No soft keys. Everything I need no more than two key presses away, and none of the junk I don't need. I can do things with this machine with a few keystrokes that would have taken a dozen or more before. And it has the most efficient complex number support I've ever seen!

I'm in love.

It is incredible to me that a 40 year old calculator design turns out to be my perfect everyday companion.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-28-2024, 06:44 AM (This post was last modified: 01-28-2024 06:48 AM by Johnh.)
RE: I'm in love
I agree! Im a calc user since the mid '70's and still a full time structural engineer.

Over the last few months, my HP15C CE has been the one I reach for everyday. It's so well designed, compact, clear, direct and positive to use. Alternatives for me are an HP35S, a couple of school Casios and a Samsung full of Android emulations of every HP I can find. I use the Touch 15C if I'm not on the real one.
01-28-2024, 05:07 PM