HP Prime and ICGSE/A-Level exams
07-31-2014, 03:43 PM
HP Prime and ICGSE/A-Level exams
Cambridge International Examination gives only general guidelines, rather than black/white listing specific models, as to what calculators are allowed on math and science exams.

With HP Prime Exam mode configuration, I believe that all of them can be met. But that's my opinion and I anticipate a resistance from the examiners - HP Prime just looks too fancy...

Does anyone have any experience, information, or a precedent as to HP Prime acceptability (or lack thereof) on CIE exams?

Cheers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2014, 08:33 PM
RE: HP Prime and ICGSE/A-Level exams
I'm a Physics teacher in a UK secondary school. I can't directly help - no students here have the Prime, and nearly all of them use Casio FX-83 GT Plus calculators. Several do use TI-84 and similar machines, but the specifications we follow do not prohibit graphing calculators as CIE does.

I think that your first step should be to convince the Head of Mathematics that with exam mode turned on the Prime meets the specifications. Then, with their support you can try to convince the school's examination officer. They may insist on contacting the exam board before giving permission. Your calculator will probably have to be inspected before the examination - an HP Prime not in exam mode is in clear violation of the requirements.

Sorry I can't offer more definite help.
08-05-2014, 08:06 AM (This post was last modified: 08-05-2014 08:26 AM by mcjtom.)
Would anybody know under what specific condition the HP Prime was allowed for use on the AP exams? Did they specify what needs to be disabled in Exam mode?