(42S) Quadratic formula - stack only
04-01-2018, 09:22 PM
(42S) Quadratic formula - stack only
A few years after I graduated I put my Hp 42S in a drawer. It slowly drained it's batteries. All the programs I spent so much time writing were gone and it just laid the for about 15 years. But, recently I screwed myself on some important thing using a windows calculator. So I invested some cash in a pack of LR44 batteries and in a few minutes I was back in a RPN world. A few hours later I started rewriting my library. Here is current iteration of my quadratic formula quadratic equation solver. I know this was done many times but as it is now, I find it simple and useful. Main goals were:
- do not use registers
- try to use only only stack
- after presenting results in readable form preserve both solution in Y and X register.

So here it is:
Code:

The program calculates both solutions to quadratic equation using quadratic formula.

Equation: ax^2 + bx + c = 0
Formula:  x1,2 = (-b+-SQRT(b^2-4ac))/2a 

INPUT
Program expects input parameters (quadratic equations coefficients) on stack:

T    ?    - not important, it will be overwritten
Z    a
Y    b
X    c

OUTPUT
Output is on the stack
T    2a                    Left over from calculation
Z    SQRT(Discriminant)    I did not manage to leave Discriminant on the stack and calculate using only stack.
Y    x1                    First root
X    x2                    Second root.

Optionaly; Discriminant can be stored in a variable, and put on stack after calculation.

NOTES
The program uses only stack and ALPHA register.

LBL 00            Error handling routine
"Coefficient "    Inform a user about an error.
|-"a is 0"
AVIEW
CLX                Because of OCD, restore coefficients on the stack as they were entered
RDOWN            [0, a, b, c]
STOP            At this point user can examine existing coefficients, enter new ones and reexecute program, either with R/S or XEQ.