Post Reply 
(Free42) Program export - bug?
02-07-2018, 11:56 AM
Post: #1
(Free42) Program export - bug?
My iOS Free42 2.0.12d has a ton of programs on it, but the latest ones do not show up in the Program Export 'Select Programs' anymore. It's difficult to say from when exactly. I deleted two from before the last entry shown, and now it shows two more.. is there a limit to the number of programs shown?

Cheers, Werner
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2018, 02:05 PM
Post: #2
RE: (Free42) Program export - bug?
(02-07-2018 11:56 AM)Werner Wrote:  My iOS Free42 2.0.12d has a ton of programs on it, but the latest ones do not show up in the Program Export 'Select Programs' anymore. It's difficult to say from when exactly. I deleted two from before the last entry shown, and now it shows two more.. is there a limit to the number of programs shown?

It does use a fixed-size buffer to create the list you see in the Export Programs dialog; it sounds like that may need to be larger (it's 1024 bytes currently). Do you see everything in the PGM catalog that you expect to see?

I could change it to automatically grow that buffer when 1024 bytes turns out to be too small. This would have been difficult while I was still supporting PalmOS, but it's a lot more straightforward now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2018, 03:05 PM
Post: #3
RE: (Free42) Program export - bug?
Yes, the PGM catalog is ok. And I definitely have more than 1024 bytes of program names ;-)
Werner
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2018, 03:09 PM
Post: #4
RE: (Free42) Program export - bug?
(02-07-2018 03:05 PM)Werner Wrote:  Yes, the PGM catalog is ok. And I definitely have more than 1024 bytes of program names ;-)
Werner

I just checked the sources, and the iPhone version is the only one with that small a buffer; I used 10000-byte buffers in all the other ones. Also note that the 1024-byte limit also applies in the iOS version's built-in HTTP server.

So, I guess increasing those buffer sizes to 10000 would go a long way, but I'll take a look at having core_list_programs() allocate / grow the buffer itself rather than filling a pre-allocated one, and fix this problem once and for all.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2018, 08:45 AM
Post: #5
RE: (Free42) Program export - bug?
This is fixed in 2.0.14, out now for Android, Windows, MacOS, and Linux. I expect the iOS version to show up today or tomorrow.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2018, 08:57 AM
Post: #6
RE: (Free42) Program export - bug?
Thanks a million, Thomas!

Werner
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)