HP Forums
"Hello World?" - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: General Forum (/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: "Hello World?" (/thread-6137.html)

"Hello World?" - ViningC - 04-25-2016 03:01 AM

Sorry for the Subject line but I've been a programmer for a few years and it just seemed to fit.

My first exposure to HP products was some time back in the mid to late 60's when I used an HP Oscilloscope in an electronics shop I worked in. I've always wanted to buy one ever since but could never justify the expense. Sad

I purchased my first HP calculator some time around 1973 when I ordered an HP-45. No sooner did it come in than I sold it to a fellow student so I could get the new HP-65. I still own it and it works well except the card reader tends to skip a bit. I was in the process of getting my undergraduate degree and I'm firmly convinced that the HP-65 passed Calculus, not me.

Some time later, I upgraded to an HP-41CX which I still have. It's still in excellent condition except I have to keep buying batteries for it!

For years I used Windows machines because I knew enough about them to teach others and thus help subsidize my income but finally got so tired of Microsoft when they notified everyone that Windows XP would no longer be supported that I switched to Apple computers. Now I run RPN Apps on my iPad and iPhone. It's not near as much fun as discovering exactly what a new calculator can do though.