HP Forums

Full Version: 50 digits precision handheld calculator is it achievable or not?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
This is a hypothetical question. Can a 50 digits precision handheld calculator be achievable with today's technology? I am not a programmer. I was just curious to know the numerous hurdles to accomplish such a task.

This is an open discussion. Software requirement and hardware that would be the size of a mobile phone. My interest is pure entertainment. This was sparked by my new found interest in homebrew calculators and the complexity of the technology.

I think that the hp42s has 25 digits internal precision. Please correct me if I am wrong and the hp 50g is 15 digits.
Hmmh, "achievable" is a lot nowadays. Even such a calculator, I guess. The more interesting questions are: In which time? At what cost? Which leads to the question: Is there an economical basis for making such a device (based on parts and products available)? I know too little about HW to be able to tell you the answers to those questions.

(01-17-2014 10:53 AM)Jean-Marc Wrote: [ -> ]I think that the hp42s has 25 digits internal precision.

How do you get to assume that? Source of information??

d:-?
(01-17-2014 10:53 AM)Jean-Marc Wrote: [ -> ]I think that the hp42s has 25 digits internal precision.
Probably mixed that up with the Free42 simulator.
What do you get with:

1E-24 ENTER
1 +
1 -

The result is 1E-24 on the Free42 app on the iPhone.

Cheers
Thomas
Plenty of hardware and libraries are available for implementing such a calculator.
The effort is probably moderated. The question is: is it worth it?

Regards
(01-17-2014 10:53 AM)Jean-Marc Wrote: [ -> ]This is a hypothetical question. Can a 50 digits precision handheld calculator be achievable with today's technology? I am not a programmer. I was just curious to know the numerous hurdles to accomplish such a task.