HP Forums

Full Version: Bit and / or Marcus: help setting up Ubuntu Linux for flashing with MySamBa
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Edit: I'm an idiot. All I had to do was to restart Linux.

The rest of this post was deleted because it is no longer relevant.

My thanks to Bit and Marcus anyway. All I had to do was think of you two and it's fixed. Amazing!
(04-04-2015 01:03 AM)John Galt Wrote: [ -> ]First thank you both (and others) for your help getting me to configure Ubuntu Linix in a VM so that I can use MySamBa on a Mac.

It was working wonderfully until I messed it up. I inadvertently wiped out my Linux partiton and had to create it from scratch again. Now, I am stuck at a point that should be simple for a Unix expert to fix, but I am not a Unix expert.

I would like to use Minicom to ensure my serial loopback works before attempting to use MySamBa. However, I cannot determine how to get Minicom to recognize the serial port as I did so easily in the past.

For background, this is what I would like to do:

http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-251...l#pid25267

This is what is happening now:

Code:
john@john-VirtualBox:~$ minicom
minicom: cannot open /dev/ttyUSB0: No such file or directory
john@john-VirtualBox:~$ ls /dev/ttyUSB0
/dev/ttyUSB0
john@john-VirtualBox:~$ minicom /dev/ttyUSB0
minicom: cannot open /dev/tty8: Permission denied
john@john-VirtualBox:~$

I already created the symbolic link, and I think it's correct:

Code:
john@john-VirtualBox:~$ ls -la /dev/ttyUSB0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4 Mar 29 22:17 /dev/ttyUSB0 -> com1

I am not able to store Minicom's default port parameters. If I attempt to store them Mincom replies "Error: Cannot write to /etc/minicom/minirc.dfl"

What am I doing wrong?