HP Forums

Full Version: Using non-rechargeable batteries on old HP calculators
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,
I have HP-65, HP-67, HP-35 and Hp-25.
I also have a TI-58.

I have spare battery packs and power supplies for all of these, but since they're only collectors items they don't get used that much and I'm not good at pulling out the calculators to maintain a charge in the batteries.

Instead of continuing with the old rechargeables, I'd like to find a way to use alkalines when I pull out my calculators.

Were battery holders ever made for these calculators or does somebody make them today? I can find loads of rechargeable packs on eBay, but that's not what I'm looking for.
(11-29-2014 07:40 PM)pocketRockets Wrote: [ -> ]Were battery holders ever made for these calculators or does somebody make them today? I can find loads of rechargeable packs on eBay, but that's not what I'm looking for.

I never heard of battery holders for the 25, 65/67 or TI-58. Regular Alkalines have somewhat higher voltages than rechargeable batteries: a freshly charged NiCd or NiMH cell may exceed 1,4 Volts, so I would expect the internal electronics to handle this voltage. 1,4 V seems to be not too much different from the 1,5 V nominal voltage of Alkalines, but fresh Alkalines may also exceed this value. Which leads to the question whether Alkalines can be used safely in the calculators you mention.

But maybe there is another solution. There are NiMH batteries with extremely low self-discharge rate. In other words: charge them now, put them in a drawer (or in a calculator with no power drain) and they will still be close 100% in 2016. The leading manufacturer, Sanyo/Panasonic, even claims 70% after 5 years (!).